Five Washingtonians were scheduled to be honored last night at the Washington Urban League's Ninth Annual Whitney M. Young Jr. Memorial Dinner at the Washington Hilton Hotel.

Presented with the 1981 Whitney M. Young Jr. Memorial Award for significant contributions to improving the quality of life for the minority community were Dr. Alyce C. Gullattee, Samuel C. Jackson, H. Carl Moultrie, Vincent E. Reed and Thelma V. Rutherford.

Gullattee, who is assistant professor in the Department of Psychiatry at Howard University's College of Medicine, has written and lectured on drug abuse therapy, the black psyche, black male-female relationships, racism and other issues relating to the psychology of the black community.

Jackson, an attorney who is a member of the firm of Stroock, Stroock and Lavan, formerly served as an assistant secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. He has been credited with the development of 15 new communities while serving as general manager of HUD's New Communities Development Corp. Jackson also was appointed by President Lyndon Johnson as one of the original commissioners of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

Moultrie, who has been chief judge of the D.C. Superior Court since 1978, is a former president of the D.C. branch of the NAACP. He has been active in civic and legal organizations for more than 40 years.

Reed, former superintendent of the D.C. Public Schools, devoted his entire career to the education and development of young people, working in almost every position in the school system during his long association with the D.C. schools.

Rutherford, who is a member of the National Steering Committee of the Gray Panthers and a member of its task force on minority outreach, has a long record of civic and community involvement. A retired social worker, she serves on the board of the D.C. Commission on Healing Arts, Citizens Commission on Pension Policy, and the Citizens Advisory Committee to the D.C. Bar Association.

The annual Young memorial dinner is held in memory of the former executive director of the National Urban League.