Mayor Marion Barry recently announced the appointments to the newly created Mayor's Committee to Promote Washington, D.C. The committee is charged with designing a marketing plan to attract industry and tourists to the city.

The president of the committee is R. Robert Linowes, attorney and former head of the Metropolitan Washington Board of Trade. The other officers are: Karen Hastie Williams, attorney; Paul O'Neil, president of the Hotel Association of Washington, D.C.; William J. Wright, chairman of the Taxicab Industry Group; Joseph H. Riley, chairman of the National Savings and Trust Co., R. L. Browning, of the Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington; Edward McMillan, managing partner of the International Inn; Peter Marzio, director of the Corcoran Gallery of Art; Ann R. Kinney, executive assistant, the D.C. Office of Business and Economic Development; and Alan Grip, director of the D.C. Office of Communications.

Others include Vi Curtis Hinton, former chair of the D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities; Ron Richardson, executive secretary-treasurer of Local 25 of the Hotel Restaurant Employees Union; Carlton Jones, president of the D.C. Chamber of Commerce; John Quackenbush, secretary-treasurer of the Washington Building and Construction Trades Council; James P. Low, president of the American Society of Association Executives; Harold Bobys, managing partner of Alexander Grant and Co.; Maurice Cullinane, president of the Washington Convention and Visitors Association; and Max Berry, chairman of the Pennsylvania Avenue Development Corporation.

Other appointees are Edward Singletary, chairman of the Washington Convention Center board of directors; James O'Brien, chairman of the subcommittee on business development for the Mayor's Overall Economic Development Advisory Committee and vice president of Coldwell Banker; and George Berklacy, associate regional director for public affairs for the National Capital Region of the National Park Service.

The Washington Convention Center Board has provided $50,000 to finance the committee's efforts.