The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently announced the winners of its corporate-sponsored four-year scholarships and $1,000 scholarships.

Suburban Maryland high school seniors to receive an average of $1,300 each school year are Dorothy B. Rony, Walt Whitman High School, who received the McGraw-Hill Foundation Merit Scholarship; Anne T. Thompson, Madeira School, Thomas J. Watson Memorial Scholarship; Daniel J. Edelson, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, Comsat Merit Scholarship; Deborah S. Kalb, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, RCA Merit Scholarship; Jeffrey M. Hill, Eleanor Roosevelt Senior High School, Bendis Corporation Merit Scholarship; Elizabeth M. Welch, Sherwood High School, Intergovernmental Employees Association Merit Scholarship; Francine S. Barron, Georgetown Visitation Prepatory School, Singer Company Merit Scholarship; Robert J. Hotes, Thomas S. Wooton High School, Diamond Shamrock Corporation Merit Scholarship; Bonnie A. Debold, Robert E. Peary High School, GK Technologies Merit Scholarship; Daniel L. Gily, Robert E. Peary High School, Thomas J. Watson Merit Scholarship, and Martin C. Offutt, Charles W. Woodward High School, Thomas J. Watson Memorial Merit scholarship.

Those who will receive $1,000 scholarships are Susan D. Booth, of Bethesda, Walt Whitman High School; Mohan M. Nadkarni, Bethesda, Walter Johnson High School; Carol L. O'Neil, Bethesda, Holton Arms School; Elizabeth M. Cooper, Bowie, Bowie Senior High School; Ian M. Aberbach, Chevy Chase, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School; Mary D. Deckelman, Chevy Chase, School of Holy Child; Michael P. Cassidy, Potomac, Winston Churchill High School; Cynthia J. Cupples, Potomac, Thomas S. Wooton High School; Roy I. Peterkofsky, Rockville, Charles W. Woodward High School; Steven M. Dunne, Severna Park, Severna Park High School, and Laurence Peiperl, Silver Spring, Northwood High School.