A brief but intense power struggle between the Fairfax County school board and Superintendent Linton Deck over principal transfers apparently has been resolved.

Deck found himself embroiled in controversy two months ago when he announced the transfer of eight high school principals after reportedly giving the board little, if any, prior notification.

In reaction to what several board members interpreted as autocratic actions on the part of Deck, the board temporarily blocked those transfers and appointed a committee to draw up new guidelines for future principal transfers. While a new policy has not yet been approved, Deck apparently got the message when he finally made six of his original eight moves last week -- after giving the board a week to think it over.

The transfers, all effective at the end of the current school year:

William E. Jackson Jr., presently principal at Lee High School, becomes principal at Chantilly High School.

Frank Elliott, presently the acting director of student services and special education, becomes principal at Lee High School.

James R. Wilson, presently principal at Falls Church High School, becomes principal at Woodson High School.

Joan Curcio, formerly the assistant principal at Marshall High School, now on sabbatical, becomes principal at Fairfax High School.

Dorothy S. Duncan, now assistant principal at Hayfield High School, becomes principal at Hayfield.

Richard L. Murphy, now assistant principal at Jefferson High School, becomes principal at Jefferson.

The other two transfers, which school officials refused to announce, were decided against after review by the administration.

School officials say they expect more principal transfers at the elementary and intermediate levels this month.