Several new principals will join the D.C. Public Schools this fall. In the elementary schools, they are: James Tillery at Birney, Helena Jones at M.C. Terrel, Sandra Nesmith at Lafayette, Patricia Patton at Mann/Stoddert, Martina Matthews at Raymond, Charles Elliot at Cleveland, Jacqueline Williams at Fort Lincoln/Woodridge, Dorothy Wormley at Noyes, Barbara Jackson at Shaed, Albert Burgess at Webb, Eurah Collins at Young, Herman Roebuck at Blow, Gretchen Lofland at Bryan/Payne, Legrande Baldwin at Davis, Perry Handy at Giddings/Lenox, Doris Edwards at Miner, Henryetta Gray at Plummer, William Birchette at Shadd; William Lipscomb at Merritt-Carver and Lawrence Hill at Maury/Lovejoy.

At the junior high schools, they are: Bernard Lucas at Douglass, Minnie Johnson at R.H. Terrell, Amanda Garnett at Hardy Middle School, Florence Pendleton at Hines and Ralph Neal at Sousa.

At the senior high schools, Clyde Gray will be principal of Anacostia.

In the special education schools, the newly appointed principals are: Lawrence Briscoe at Grimke Job Development Center and Marie Foster at Mamie D. Lee.

Clayton Singleton is the new principal at the Armstrong Adult Education Center and Joseph G. Brown is the new principal at Bell Career Center.

The following people are assuming administrative appointments in the D.C. Public Schools with the opening of school: Floretta D. McKenzie is the new superintendent of schools and Andrew E. Jenkins III is the deputy superintendent. The new school communications director is Janis L. Cromer.

In the school system's Office of Financial Management, Data Systems and Planning, Arthur G. Hawkins takes over as the new associate superintendent and Shelton E. Lee becomes the acting director of the Division of Budget. In the Office of Management Services, the new associate superintendent is David L. Huie and the personnel director is Mary B. Hendrick. Margaret Labat becomes the new staff development director of the Office of the Deputy Superintendent, and Wilbur A. Millard is the new associate superintendent of the Office of Special Services and State Affairs.

The Rev. Dr. Jon J. O'Brien, assistant professor of psychiatry at the Georgetown University School of Medicine, has been appointed associate dean of students. A graduate of Dartmouth College, O'Brien pursued his medical studies at the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and received his D.O. degree in 1975. He accepted a psychiatry fellowship at Georgetown in 1978 and joined the faculty as an instructor in psychiatry in 1979 and was promoted to assistant professor in 1981. O'Brien is also a psychiatric consultant for the Kaiser-Georgetown Medical Plan and the Washington Hospice.

Three new appointments have been announced in the student affairs office at the Catholic University of America. Frank G. Persico, who has been associate dean of students for the past 18 months, has been named dean of students. James H. Brooks, who has been assistant to the vice provost for the past year, has been named associate dean of students. Peter Cimbolic has been named director of the Center for Counseling and Personal Growth. He comes to Catholic University from North Texas State University, where he taught psychology as an associate professor.

Among the District women who will begin their freshman year this month at Wellesley College in Massachusetts are Dominique Long, Jane Langley, Nina Howard, Sarah Goodby, Marilyn Fletcher, Ana Mercedes Canizares, Renee C. Bovelle, Alice P. Arnold, Sarah E. Mendelsohn and Beverly Maria Russell.