The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has released the names of more than 15,000 semifinalists in the competition for approximately 5,000 Merit Scholarships to be offered in 1982.

The following District semifinalists represent the top half of one percent of the city's high school senior class. In addition to being honored publicly, semifinalists' names are submitted to colleges and universities in an effort to increase the students' educational opportunities.

The semifinalists are: Katherine O. David, Academy of Notre Dame; John T. Landry and Christopher J. Riley, Capitol Page School; Charles E. Glatt, Maria J. Halperin, Marc H. Picciotto and Patrick W. Symmes, Georgetown Day School; Nicole L. Touchet, Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School; Patrick J. Kennelly and Christopher Lacovara, Gonzaga College High School.

Barbara A. Leon, Immaculata Preparatory School; Hope W. Korin, Lycee Francais International; Iain G. Bason, Ryland B. Kendrick, Gilbert B. Rodman, Gabriela D. Siegel and David E. Sundell, Maret School; Julia D. Eldridge, Anne M. Fisher, Heather E. Langenkamp, Stephanie F. Singer, Catharine B. Toulmin and Ayse Yenal, National Cathedral School; Christina M. Devlin, School Without Walls.

Anne E. Applebaum, John M. Berliner, Michael J. Beveridge, Edward H. Dixon, John K. Durfee, Jonathan S. Franklin, Charles W. Freeman, Bruce G. Gray, Robert H. Herzstein, Jason H. Horowitz, Sarah H. Hutt, Claudia M. Kolker, Manuel T. Lerdau, Jonathan M. Levine, Monica A. Powell, Kai E. Rasmussen, Alicia D. Sams and William M. Warshauer, Sidwell Friends School; Keith V. Bradsher, Oliver M. Collins, Clarke T. Cooper, Charles J. DiBona, Gregor F. Gruber, Willard J. Hall, Paul R. Hughes, Charles T. Kurzman, John H. Perry, Ranil M. Salgado and David A. Zimmerman, St. Alban's School.

Brian J. Ahearn, Eric T. DeWeaver, Philip J. Huitema, James P. Lucier, Clifford T. Thorne and Edward W. Zdankiewicz, St. Anselm's Abbey School; Diana-Lynn Skelton, Washington International School; Neil I. Chase, Thomas E. Evans and Barbara E. McLean, Woodrow Wilson Senior High School.