When the Virginia General Assembly last week refused to confirm outgoing Republican Gov. John N. Dalton's final appointments to state boards, more than 20 Northern Virginians were among the rejected nominees.

The legislature's action, described by angry Republicans as a "blatant partisan move," allows the governor-elect, Democrat Charles S. Robb, to fill the 160 positions as soon as he takes office Jan. 16.

Northern Virginians among the nominees rejected by the legislature, and the boards to which they had been nominated, include:

George H. Alexander, Fairfax, Virginia State Fire Services Commission.

Ruth B. Bear, Alexandria, Statewide Health Coordinating Council.

Preston C. Caruthers, Arlington, Virginia Public Building Authority.

John J. Caussin, Springfield, Board of Visitors for Gunston Hall.

Dr. C. Barrie Cook, Fairfax, Advisory Committee on Medicare and Medicaid.

John A. Davis, Annandale, Board of Commerce.

William H. deButts Jr., Marshall, Commission of Outdoor Recreation.

Leonidas T. Delyannais, Arlington, Virginia Board of Geology.

Patsy J. Drain, Falls Church, Virginia Public Telecommunications Board.

T. Farrell Egge, Alexandria, Board of Visitors for Gunston Hall.

Joseph M. Guiffre, Alexandria, The Solid Waste Commission.

Morris J. Hall, Springfield, Board for Commercial Driver Training Schools.

Elizabeth S. Harrington, Fredericksburg, Commission on the Status of Women.

John J. Hawse, Winchester, Board of Rehabilitative Services.

John T. Hazel Jr., Fairfax, Virginia Public Building Authority.

C. B. McDaniel, Fredericksburg, Board of Visitors for Gunston Hall.

James K. Meharg Jr., Springfield, Advisory Committee on Medicare and Medicaid.

Mrs. James P. Mills, Middleburg, Virginia Outdoors Foundation.

Mrs. William R. Murphy, Manassas, Virginia Education Loan Authority.

Michael E. Norris, Alexandria, Council on Criminal Justice.

Mrs. Ferman W. Perry, Winchester, Virginia Commission for the Arts.

Winona J. Vaught, Winchester, Advisory Committee on Medicare and Medicaid.