The D.C. Democratic State Committee recently adopted the following plan to elect four delegates and three replacement delegates to represent D.C. Democrats at the National Democratic Mid-Term Conference, which will be held June 25 through 27 in Philadelphia.

Democrats in the District may pick up petitions from the D.C. Democratic State Committee office and return them by 5 p.m. on March 8 with the signatures of at least 25 Democrats who are registered and live in the petitioner's ward.

People who qualify through the petition process will be placed in nomination at a ward caucus in each ward March 18 from 6 to 8 p.m. Each ward caucus will nominate two men and two women from the qualifying petitioners. Their names will be forwarded to the D.C. Democratic State Committee. Democrats who are registered and live in the District may vote in their respective ward caucuses.

The D.C. Democratic State Committee will meet March 25 at 7 p.m. to elect from the ward nominated delegate-candidates four delegates and three replacements. The meeting is open to the public.

The District will be represented at the National Democratic Conference by nine delegates and three replacement delegates. In addition to the delegates and replacements elected March 25, the District will be represented by D.C. Democratic Party leaders Theodis R. Gay, chairman; Barbara Bell Clark, vice-chairwoman; Sharon Pratt Dixon, national committeewoman; John Hechinger, national committeeman, and Mayor Marion Barry Jr