National Merit scholarships have been awarded to 25 Northern Virginia high school students.

Nationwide, 1,800 winners of $1,000 National Merit scholarships were selected on the basis of high school academic records, achievements outside the classroom, leadership qualities, two sets of test scores and recommendations from school officials.

Nearly two-thirds of the scholarship funds came from grants from corporations, company foundations and other business organizations. The rest are underwritten by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Local scholarship recipients are:

Alexandria: William T. Adamson of Norfolk, Episcopal High School; Katherine O. David, Academy of Notre Dame; Sarah B. Mouzon, St. Mary's Academy.

Annandale: Noreen M. O'Connor, Annandale High School.

Arlington: Scott C. Bradford, Washington Lee High School; Tim J. Ingrassia, Washington Lee High School; John J. McGovern, Yorktown High School; Jeffrey L. Mellor, Washington Lee High School; Lisa M. Orr, Washington Lee High School; Patricia J. Uelmen, Yorktown High School; Pilar M. Uelmen, Yorktown High School.

Fairfax: Rebecca M. Bjornson, Robinson High School; Eric G. Hughes, W.T. Woodson High School; David B. Chase, W.T. Woodson High School.

Falls Church: David W. Howe, J.E.B. Stuart High School.

Leesburg: Karla J. Box, Loudoun County High School.

McLean: Curtis A. Glovier, Saint Stephen Episcopal School; Richard G. Lesure, McLean High School.

Reston: William A. Barbieri, South Lakes High School; Catherine A. Piez, Herndon High School.

Springfield: John F. Hiller, West Springfield High School; Anne J. Pope, Thomas Jefferson High School.

Vienna: Mary R. Bowman, James Madison High School; Miles R. Cook, Oakton High School; Brent R. Johnson, Tara-Reston Christian School.