The names of 1,800 winners of $1,000 National Merit scholarships have been announced by the National Merit Scholarship Corp.

There were 13,500 finalists in the 1982 National Merit competition who were considered for $1,000 scholarships. Scholarship winners were selected on the basis of students' high school academic records, achievements outside the classroom, leadership qualities, two sets of test scores and a recommendation by a school official.

The number of winners in each state is proportional to the state's percentage of the nation's total graduating high school seniors.

Nearly two-thirds of the scholarship funds were made possible by grants from corporations, company foundations and other business organizations that also sponsor four-year Merit Scholarships. The remainder is underwritten by the National Merit program.

Suburban Maryland winners are: Jeffrey L. Bennett, Winston Churchill High School; Ashutosh A. Bhagwat, Winston Churchill High School; Gregory L. Burks, Takoma Academy; Robert A. Cornell, Robert E. Peary High School; Leonard V. Covello, Springbrook Senior High; Margaret L. Croneberg, Stone Ridge Sacred Heart; Anthony P. Datel, Thomas S. Wootton High School; Donald M. Davidoff, Eleanor Roosevelt Senior High School; David M. Eichhorn, Eleanor Roosevelt Senior High; Andrew Elfenbein, Eleanor Roosevelt Senior High School; Nancy E. Ellman, Holton Arms School; Elizabeth G. Frank, Holton Arms School; Daniel J. Friedman, Paint Branch High School; Andrew E. Gelman, Springbrook Senior High; Felicia B. Gershberg, Thomas S. Wootton High School; Benjamin L. Hsu, Seneca Valley High School; Bernadette Johnston, Glenelg High School; Jeffrey S. Lin, Paint Branch High School; John D. Prince, Walt Whitman High School; Caroline E. Rossi, Col. Z. Magruder High School; Katherine T. Schwarz, Walt Whitman High School; Stephanie Telesetsky, Stone Ridge Sacred Heart; Karan E. Weaver, Damascus High School; Page E. West, Holton Arms School, and Kenneth C. Whang, Springbrook Senior High.