Voters in Maryland go to the polls Tuesday to vote in primaries for governor, U.S. Senate, U.S. Huse of Representatives, state comptroller, state legislator, county executive, county council member, school board member and other local offices.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

For information on voting, call: in Montgomery County, 279-1507; in Prince George's County, 952-3270.

Voters must be enrolled as Democrats or Republicans to vote in the party primaries but any registered voter may cast ballots in the nonpartisan school board races in Montgomery and Prince George's counties.

Persons voting by absentee ballots must return them to the elections supervisors by 8 p.m. on Primary Day, Sept. 14. The deadline for obtaining absentee ballots has passed.

Maryland traditionally elects its state officials and most of its local officials in even-numbered years between presidential elections. Under primary election rules, only candidates who have opposition within their parties are listed on the political party ballot.

At the top of the ballots this year will be the candidates for governor. On the Democratic side, incumbent Harry Hughes is being challenged for the nomination by Baltimore state senator Harry J. McGuirk, Ocean City Mayor Harry Kelley and John J. Schwartz, who has done no apparent campaigning.

On the Republican gubernatorial ballot, Anne Arundel County Executive Robert A. Pascal is being challenged by perennial candidate Ross Z. Pierpont.

Voters cast a single ballot for governor and lieutenant governor, who run as a team.

In the U.S. Senate race, incumbent Democrat Paul S. Sarbanes has eight primary challengers. Three Republicans are seeking the GOP nomination, including Prince George's County Executive Lawrence J. Hogan, who has had the most political visibilty.

Locally, Montgomery County Executive Charles W. Gilchrist is seeking a second term and faces a primary challenge from political newcomer Wade Dunn. Three Republicans are seeking to oppose the Gilchrist-Dunn winner. They are state Del. Luiz (Lou) Simmons, former Democrat John P. Hewitt and banker Joseph C. McGrath.

In Prince George's, where Hogan is giving up his job as executive, county council member Paris N. Glendening, a Democrat, has been campaigning for his party's nomination, as have Democrats J. Lee Ball, Kenneth W. Cutlip and ARthur B. Haynes. On the GOP side, Ann Shoch and former delegate William J. Goodman are vying to replace Hogan as the Republican nominee.

In the nonpartisan school board races, Montgomery has 15 candidates contending for four seats. Prince George's only school board contest is in District 5 where four candidates are seeking one seat.

Voters in Montgomery and Prince George's also will find on their ballots names of candidates seeking seats on county Republican and Democratic central committees.