The second-place candidate in the Republican primary for D.C. City Council in Ward 1 was reported incorrectly yesterday. The candidate was Nancy Shia.

The D.C. Board of Elections and Ethics certified the results yesterday of the Sept. 14 primary, officially declaring Mayor Marion Barry, who received 58 percent of the vote, the Democratic nominee for mayor.

Barry received 66,336 votes. Lawyer Patricia Roberts Harris was second with 40,597 votes (36 percent). City Council member John Ray received 3,945 votes and Council member Charlene Drew Jarvis, 3,307 votes (about 3 percent each).

Barry will face Republican E. Brooke Lee in the Nov. 2 general election. Lee, a Realtor, received 2,890 votes, or about 61 percent, in the Republican mayoral primary, defeating James E. Champagne, a speech writer, who received 1,838. Glenn White will be running as the candidate of the Socialist Workers Party and Dennis Sobin as an independent.

Election officials said 125,400 voters, or about 38 percent of those registered, cast ballots in the primary, about 20,000 fewer than voted in the 1978 primary.

Of the ballots cast, 2,157, or less than 2 percent, were disqualified.

Elections officials also certified the nomination of Democrat David A. Clarke for City Council chairman. Clarke, currently the Ward 1 Council member, received 49,279 votes (44 percent).

Clarke defeated Council Chairman Arrington Dixon, who received 31,834 votes (29 percent) and former Council chairman Sterling Tucker, who won 29,783 votes (27 percent).

Clarke's only opposition will come from Gregory Rowe, who received one write-in vote to win the D.C. Statehood Party nomination.

In the Democratic race for council at-large race, incumbent Betty Ann Kane won the nomination with 55,741 votes (55 percent). School board member Barbara Lett Simmons was second with 31,270 votes (31 percent) and legislative aide Johnny Barnes received 13,033 votes (13 percent).

Kane and incumbent Hilda Mason, who received 227 votes to win the nomination of the D.C. Statehood Party, face no opposition for the two at-large seats that are on the November ballot.

In the ward council races, school board member Frank Smith was declared the Democratic winner in Ward 1 with 5,260 votes (51 percent). Marie Nahikian was second with 4,379 votes (42 percent) and three others were far behind.

Smith will face independents Maurice Jackson and Ester McCain and Republican Charles Fisher in the general election. Fisher received 247 votes. His closest opponent was Jacob Sherrill Jr., who received 85 votes.

In Ward 3, incumbent Democrat Polly Shackleton received 6,297 votes (47 percent), followed by Ruth Dixon with 4,588 votes (34 percent) and Mark Plotkin with 2,415 votes (18 percent).

In the Nov. 2 general election, Shackleton will faces Republican Lois DeVecchio, who was unopposed and received 2,172 votes.

In Ward 5, incumbent William R. Spaulding was declared the Democratic winner with 5,436 votes (33 percent). Robert I. Artisst was second with 4,698 votes (28 percent) and former council member Douglas E. Moore was third with 4,265 votes (26 percent). Two others were far behind.

Spaulding will face Republican William R. Evans, who was unopposed in the primary and received 271 votes, and D.C. Statehood Party nominee Martin Chavis and independent Virgil Thompson.

In Ward 6, incumbent Nadine P. Winter, who received 8,006 votes (62 percent), defeated her only challenger for the Democratic nomination, school board member John E. Warren, who received 4,825 votes (38 percent).

Winter will face independent Charlotte Holmes, D.C. Statehood Party nominee Walter Lee and Republican Julie Servaites.

D.C. Del. Walter Fauntroy, who ran with only write-in opposition, received 89,051 votes for the Democratic nomination. Fauntroy will face Republican John West and independent Viola James in November. West received 4,071 votes.