Mayor Marion Barry yesterday named the final six members of a 28-member design commission that will oversee the city's slow-moving efforts to bring cable television to the nation's capital.

The appointees, including 22 persons chosen earlier by the D.C. City Council, will be sworn in at the District Building today.

Under a law passed this year by the council, the commission will have 90 days to prepare a formal proposal to accept bids from commercial cable firms to establish one or more cable systems in Washington.

Despite the short time period--some commissions in other jurisidictions have taken up to a year or more to prepare for bids--a cable franchise is not expected to be operating in the District for at least two years, according to City Council members.

The law requires the winning firms to meet strict standards to assure that the poorer areas of the city are not left out. In addition, the firms would have to meet strict affirmative action goals to assure minority participation and that jobs will go to city residents.

Barry's appointees include Carolyn L. Smith, an accountant for Coopers and Lybrand, who resigned in November as Barry's director of finance and revenue.

Other Barry appointees are:

Henry Geller, director of the Washington Center for Public Policy Research, which is affiliated with Duke University; Aaron Goldman, chairman of the board of WETA-TV (Channel 26); Anthony Gittens, director of the Black Film Institute at the University of the District of Columbia; Sally Craig, founder of a group that attempted to establish a women's cable channel in the District 10 years ago; and Willa Faye Herring Garrett, an assistant professor in speech communication at UDC and a former radio and television engineer.

William Lightfoot, chosen by the council as chairman of the commission, said that the group would hold a brief organization meeting after today's ceremony.

The commission tentatively plans to organize several committees to explore such areas as ownership options, legal problems, programming content, construction and developments in technology. In addition, the group may establish task forces that would include members of the public and of interest groups that plan to use cable channels.

Other members of the commission are:

Liesel Flashenburg, a member of Women in Film; Joslyn Williams, president of the Washington Metropolitan Council, AFL-CIO; Ron Linton, a management consultant; Donald L. Smith, deputy U.S. marshal; Tayloe Ross, a lesbian activist and longtime advocate of minority and women participation in the media; teacher Donald L. Nunley;

Marjorie Newman, a real estate marketing official active in broadcast issues; communications attorney Bruce D. Jacobs; L. Leonard Hacker, president of LAND, a real estate syndicate; Charles Dorsey, a member of City Council member H.R. Crawford's staff; Jerome Shuman, professor of law at Howard University; attorney Woodrow Boggs Jr.; Frederick A. Smith, a retired school principal; Dr. Clarence E. Wade; G. Godwin Oyewole, general manager of WDCU-FM (University of the District of Columbia); Stanton Anderson; Connie Mack Higgins; Maria Stella Dabancens Gandara, general manager of Channel 56-14 television stations;

Darlene Palmer, a former Carter administration telecommunications aide; Winfield Scott, associate dean of the George Washington University medical school; and James Baldwin, former director of the Office of Human Rights.