The federal government and most area jurisdictions will observe the New Year's holiday today.

All federal offices except the Postal Service will be closed today. The Postal Service will be closed tomorrow.

All state and county offices in Maryland and Virginia and all District of Columbia government offices will be closed today and tomorrow.

Banks in Virginia will be closed today, but banks in Maryland and most in the District of Columbia will be open. Tomorrow, all area banks will be closed.

All area courts will be closed.

Metrobus will operate on a Saturday schedule today. Metrorail will operate from 6:30 a.m. to midnight, with off-peak fares in effect all day. Tomorrow both Metrorail and Metrobus will operate on a Sunday schedule. The Silver Spring Ride-On will operate on a Sunday schedule for both days, while the Gaithersburg Ride-On will not operate either day.

All area schools are closed for the holiday and will reopen on Monday Jan. 3.

Liquor stores in Montgomery County will operate between 10 a.m. and 9 p.m. today, while Virginia liquor stores will close at 6 p.m. Tomorrow, liquor stores in Virginia and Montgomery County will be closed. There are no legal restrictions on liquor store operations in Prince George's County or in the District, but some stores will be closed tomorrow.

All area public libraries will be closed today and tomorrow except in Prince George's County, where they will remain open today only.

Supercan collections will be made on schedule in Washington.

Parking meter payments will not be required in the District. Enforcement of traffic and parking regulations will vary in other jurisdictions.