Thirteen Washington Post journalists yesterday won 16 prizes for local stories written in 1982 in contests sponsored by three news organizations. The awards were presented yesterday at a luncheon in Frederick, Md.

Lawrence Meyer and Howie Kurtz won first place awards from the Associated Press and the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association for their news story about the Air Florida plane crash.

Benjamin J. Weiser and Athelia Knight won first place from both organizations for their news series, "Street Cops," which depicted the lives of police officers working in Washington's downtown Third District.

Photographs by Linda Wheeler illustrating the "Street Cops" series won the AP picture series award and first prize in the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. picture series category.

First prize for a feature story was awarded by the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. association to Joe Pichirallo and Blaine Harden for their profile of Norman Mayer, the man killed by police following his siege of the Washington Monument.

Sara Rimer won second prize in that feature category for "Exit the Rainmaker," the story of the mysterious disappearance of the president of Charles County Community College in Maryland.

Neil Henry, who wrote "Season of Light," about a softball league for blind children, won first prize for a feature series in the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. and AP contests.

Henry was awarded a second place prize for the series by United Press International.

Both AP and the tri-state association gave their public service award to Loretta Tofani, author of "Rape in the County Jail: Prince George's Hidden Horror."

Dave Kindred won first place in the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. contest for his sports column.

In its photographers' awards, the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association's second place prize for a spot news photo went to Larry Morris.

John McDonnell won the feature picture award from the Associated Press.