Mayor Marion Barry has nominated 11 District residents to a new city board created to safeguard the District's landmark buildings and neighborhoods.

The nominations were a key element in an agreement reached with the National Park Service to lift its suspension of the D.C. Office of Historic Preservation, an NPS spokesman said.

The historic preservation office was decertified March 31 for what the NPS called "longstanding budgetary and staffing problems."

Barry's nominees to the Historic Preservation Review Board must be confirmed by the City Council. The board will assume most of the workload of the Joint Committee on Landmarks.

Nominated to three-year terms were Ibrahim Mumin, executive director of the Shaw Project Area Committee; Charles I. Cassell, an architect and University of the District of Columbia official who is a JCL member; Charles D. Cheek, an archeologist in a private firm; Harrison M. Ethridge, an architectural historian who teaches in Baltimore; and James T. Speight Jr., executive director of the East of the River Health Center.

Nominated to two-year terms were Romaine B. Thomas, principal of Ketcham Elementary School in the Distrct; John D. Sulton, an architect and JCL vice chairman; Charles Dynes, an official in the Washington office of American Telephone and Telegraph; Evelyn Brooks, a University of Maryland history professor; Alan J. Lockman, a Washington architect; and Nancy G. Linton, a saleswoman with Merrill Lynch Realty Inc., who was a volunteer precinct organizer in Barry's reelection effort.