Thirty-five suburban Maryland students are among 1,500 semifinalists named in the 20th annual National Achievement Scholarship Program for Outstanding Negro Students. The semifinalists are among the highest-scoring of 70,000 black students who took the National Merit Scholarship Corporation's Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in 1982 as high school juniors and who requested consideration in the Achievement Scholarship competition.

Listed by town and school, the students are:

Bethesda: Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, Tracey L. Banks, Valerie S. Brown and Sylvia Grace Shaw; Landon School, Jeffrey B. Clyburn and Marcus Y. Smith; and Walt Whitman High School, David A. Hughes and Sharon R. Jackson.

Burtonsville: Paint Branch High School, Dionne J. Latham.

Columbia: Oakland Mills High School, John C. Hardwick and Wallace H. Henry; and Wilde Lake High School, Ian P. Hunter.

Ellicott City: Centennial High School, Charles R. Davidson; and Howard High School, Cheryl K. Johnson.

Forestville: Bishop McNamara High School, Brian A. Keizer.

Fort Meade: Meade High School, Shirley Williams.

Fort Washington: Friendly High School, Renee L. Peace.

Greenbelt: Eleanor Roosevelt Senior High School, Deanna L. Barnes, William Brown, Cyndie R. Feaster, Jennifer R. Jones and Sherry A. Rudder.

Harwood: Southern Senior High School, Harry M. Wingo.

Hyattsville: Dematha Catholic High School, Leroy Evans and David C. Tapscott; and North Western High School, Karen Y. Morrison.

Oxon Hill: Oxon Hill High School, Rachael E. Wright.

Potomac: Winston Churchill High School, Ellen M. Goolsby, Rhea A. Lloyd and Timothy M. Snead.

Rockville: Georgetown Preparatory School, Kendrick E. Sealy.

Severna Park: Severna Park High School, Charbet M. Duckett.

Silver Spring: Springbrook High School, Cynthia M. Moore, Vanessa L. Nicholls and Grace A. Thomas.

Takoma Park: Takoma Academy, Dwayne Leslie.