Upon entering the inside of Woodrow Wilson High School's swimming pool area, on the right hand wall, there is a hand-painted poster that reads, "Wilson Tigersharks! Boys and Girls Interhigh Swimming Champions 1984! We're Number One!"

But after last week's 13th annual D.C. Public Schools Interhigh Swimming Championships hosted by Wilson, the sign must be updated to 1985, noting Wilson's successful defense.

As expected, Wilson's girls won handily, compiling a total of 163 points to win the Interhigh championship for the ninth consecutive year. The closest opponent was H.D. Woodson, which totaled 60 points, and Theodore Roosevelt took third place with 16 points.

Wilson's girls, led by Betsy Lake, Jennie Peabody and Courtney Fahy, who was voted the female swimming MVP, helped the Tigersharks score a first-place finish in every event except the 50-yard freestyle, in which the title was shared. H.D. Woodson's Kia Moore and Wilson's Lisa King matched stroke for stroke down the stretch to tie in 32.47.

Fahy breezed to two easy victories in the 100- and 200-yard freestyles and also anchored the winning 400-yard freestyle relay team.

Lake finished first in the 200-yard individual medley and the 100-yard backstroke and swam the first leg in the 400-yard freestyle relay.

In the boys division, the championship wasn't decided until the last few events, as runner-up H.D. Woodson, and third-place Cardozo stayed within striking distance of eventual champion Wilson.

An important win in the 400-yard freestyle relay by Wilson helped provide the final margin of victory. Wilson finished with 117 points.

Chris Landberg, who anchored the relay for Wilson, also took first in the 50-yard freestyle and second in the 100-yard butterfly. Teammate Justin Amacker had an easy win in the 200-yard individual medley and also swam the first leg in the winning 400 freestyle relay.

Runner-up H.D. Woodson, which had 101 1/2 points, received excellent performances from Bernard Morton, who won the 100-yard backstroke; Michael Williams, who took the 200-yard freestyle, and Michael Lyon, who was voted the male swimming MVP. Lyon was victorious in the 100- and 500-yard freestyles and also swam anchor on the Warriorsharks' runner-up 400-yard freestyle relay team.

Third-place Cardozo (95 points), was victorious in the 200-yard medley relay, swum by Clarence Dixon, Ronnie Waters, Ronald Williams and Derrick Barrett.

Williams also easily captured the 100-yard butterfly and teammate Ronnie Waters took first in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Dunbar finished fourth with 47 1/2 points while Theodore Roosevelt came in fifth with 33 points in the boys division.