In yesterday's Virginia Weekly, the meeting time of the Alexandria Democratic Caucus was incorrect. The correct time is noon to 4 p.m. this Saturday at the Minnie Howard School Administration Building, Braddock Road.

Virginia Democrats get their chance this weekend to decide who they want to be the party's nominee for governor this fall.

About 3,500 delegates to the party's June 7 nominating convention in Richmond will be selected Saturday and Monday night during a series of mass meetings arranged by the party. And although the convention is not until June, party leaders say a clear winner should emerge from the caucuses because the delegates selected will be bound to vote for their candidate on the first ballot in Richmond.

In Northern Virginia, the major jurisdictions are holding what party leaders call "unassembled" caucuses on Saturday to determine who wins the area's delegates in the hard fought race for governor between Lt. Gov. Richard J. Davis of Portsmouth and state Attorney General Gerald L. Baliles of Richmond.

Interested persons -- the only requirement to participate is that you are a registered voter willing to pledge you won't work against the party in this fall's elections -- simply have to stop by local meeting sites to cast votes for delegates pledged to either Baliles or Davis.

Participants also will be allowed to vote for supporters of state Sen. L. Douglas Wilder of Richmond, who is unopposed in his bid for the party's nomination for lieutenant governor, and state Del. Mary Sue Terry (D-Patrick), who is running unopposed for attorney general.

The five Northern Virginia jurisdictions that use the unassembled caucus system are Fairfax County, which holds its elections in each of its eight magisterial districts, Fairfax City, Arlington, Alexandria, Fairfax City and Falls Church. (See the end of this column for a list of Northern Virginia sites and times and the number of delegates each area will elect.)

The other Northern Virginia counties of Loudoun, Prince William and Stafford are scheduled to hold more traditional caucuses in which participants will be expected to remain at the caucus sites, perhaps for several hours, while party leaders gauge which candidates have the most support. (Locations for those caucuses, which all begin at noon Saturday, also are listed below.)

"All the frantic work has been done," said Baliles, who along with Davis has worked for more than a year to put together statewide organizations to turn out supporters on Saturday and Monday.

Party officials say about 22,000 party regulars are expected to show up at the caucuses, but say the participants could reach as high as 30,000, depending on the appeals of the various candidates.

About 25,000 persons participated in party caucuses to select state delegates to last year's Democratic National Convention.

About 68 percent of this year's 3,500 delegates will be chosen during Saturday's caucuses, most of which will be in urban areas of the state. The remainder will be chosen Monday night in mostly rural areas.

The following is a list of mass meeting locations, times and number of delegates provided by the Virginia Democratic Party:

UNASSEMBLED CAUCUSES (participants drop by to vote.)

FAIRFAX COUNTY (380 delegates): All eight caucus voting sites open from noon to 7 p.m.

1) Annandale -- Kings Glen Elementary School, 5401 Danbury Forest Dr.

2) Centreville -- James Madison High School, 2500 James Madison Dr.

3) Dranesville -- Spring Hill Elementary School, 8201 Lewinsville R.

4) Lee -- Mark Twain Intermediate School, 4700 Franconia Rd.

5) Mason -- J.E.B. Stuart High School, 3301 Peace Valley Ln.

6) Mount Vernon -- Groveton High School, 6500 Quander Rd.

7) Providence -- Luther Jackson Intermediate School, 3020 Gallows Rd.

8) Springfield -- Terra Centre Elementary School, 6000 Burke Lake Pkwy.

ALEXANDRIA (72 delegates): Noon to 5 p.m. Minnie Howard School Administration Building, Braddock Road.

ARLINGTON (126 delegates): Noon to 4 p.m.) Barrett Elementary School, 4401 N. Henderson Rd.

FAIRFAX CITY (13 delegates): Noon to 4 p.m. Fairfax High School. 3500 Old Lee Hwy.

FALLS CHURCH (9 delegates): Noon to 7 p.m.) Falls Church Community Center. 223 Little Falls St. REGULAR CAUCUSES (All begin at noon. Participants must stay until conclusion of caucus.)

PRINCE WILLIAM (59 delegates): Stonewall Jackson High School. 8820 Rixlew Lane. Manassas. (7th Congressional District portion of Prince William.) Woodbridge High School. 3001 Old Bridge Road. (8th Congressional District portion of Prince William.)

LOUDOUN COUNTY (32 delegates): Loudoun County High School. Day Mill and Catoctin roads. Leesburg.

STAFFORD (21 delegates): Stafford Courthouse.