The Northern Virginia alumni of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority held a "Salute to Blacks in Key Local Government Positions in Northern Virginia" on Sunday at the George Mason University campus in Arlington to celebrate the group's 25th anniversary.

Chapter president Audrey Jones said those honored before an audience of 300 guests were from Arlington and Fairfax counties and Alexandria.

Washington-Lee High School senior Dianne Raiford,18, of Arlington received a $3,500 college scholarship to be used at George Mason University this coming fall.

Cochairwoman Ola Willoughby, explaining the thought behind the awards, said, "For some time, many citizens have been concerned about the underrepresentation of blacks in certain job categories, particularly at the administrative and managerial levels. Many people, including a number of members of this chapter, have been working to ensure the implementation of programs to achieve the equitable distribution of job opportunities for black citizens."

The local organization is one of 715 chapters of the 125,000-member sorority, which includes professional women pledged to community service and promotes human welfare on local, national and international levels. It makes an annual contribution to the Reading Is Fundamental program and has donated money and 30,000 hours a year to the American Cancer Society, Children's Hospital, the NAACP, the United Way, the Urban League and the Young Men's Christian Society.

Those honored who work for the city of Alexandria were: From the police department, Lt. William Banks and Sgts. Gwendolyn A Robbins, Herman Springs and Robert Wynn; Assistant City Manager Rose Boyd; Mildrilyn Davis, division chief of the Office of Housing; Jerome Ford and Moses Simmons, division chiefs of Parks and Recreation; internal auditor Arthur Hazlewood; Lts. Darnley Hodge, Henry Howard and Veronica Mitchell of the sheriff's office; Lt. John T. Locke of the fire department, and Sheila Willis, film supervisor for the libraries.

Those recognized who work for Arlington County were: Assistant County Attorney Agnes Alexis; John Allen, traffic operations engineer; Kitty Clark, personnel EEO specialist; Debbie Crutchfield, data entry supervisor; Spurgeon Duncan, recreation district supervisor; police Cpls. Henry Gates and Robert Jacobs; Jack Gravely and Alice Moss, special assistants to the county manager; Beverly Hall, public information officer; Elizabeth Hazel, child care coordinator; Sarah Higginbotham, personnel analyst; Daisy Lee, classification and treatment supervisor with the sheriff's office; Michael Lewis, construction code supervisor; Joe Malcom, fire supervisor; Gynell McGee, special assistant to the director of personnel; Albert Moncure, administration chief of the Human Services Division; Nadine Rier, librarian supervisor II; Christine Toliver, equal opportunity specialist, and Evelyn Vaughan, budget analyst.

And from Fairfax: Fred Allen, executive director of the Human Resources Department; Theodore Austell, county executive assistant; 2nd Lt. Nojer Jeffries and Sgts. Preston Blackwell and Larry Jackson of the police department; Jean Felton, recreation specialist; Horace Jordon, deputy director of communications; Dorothy Miller, director of the outpatient unit at Mount Vernon Mental Health Center; Beverly S. Scott, assistant director of personnel, and Oliver Willis, coordinator of the employe services division.