MCI will award trophies to high school and college varsity football players in six Mid-Atlantic states who execute the longest scoring runs during the 1985 season.

Long-distance scoring plays include a run or pass from scrimmage, kickoff or punt return, fumble return or interception return. Awards will be presented to the top three winners in each region at the conclusion of the season.

The regions represent Northern and Southern New Jersey; Washington, D.C./Northern Virginia; Virginia's Tidewater and Central/Western areas; Maryland; West Viginia; Delaware, and Eastern/Central and Western Pennsylavania.

Scholarship money totaling $35,000 will be given to the high schools of the six MCI winners. Those schools may award the money to students for either athletic or academic excellence.

After the first week of play, the area leaders in Washington/Northern Virginia are Darwin Bridges of H.D. Woodson (80-yard run) and Mike Tyler of Hayfield (80-yard punt return). The top performances in the local Maryland area (excluding Baltimore and respective counties) are Dewey Barnes of Poolesville (85-yard reception); Tyrone Jackson of DeMatha (85-yard kickoff return); Anthony Pelt of Crossland (85-yard run); and Yusef Williams of Bethesda-Chevy Chase (85-yard fumble return).

Wilson and Bilingual have been given permission by Interhigh League Athletic Director Otto Jordan to participate in the Washington Metropolitan Soccer League. Apparently that means there will be no attempt this fall to form an Interhigh soccer league.

Wilson opened its season in fine fashion. Mark Litton had three goals and an assist in leading Wilson to a 4-0 victory over Capital Christian.

Wilson Coach Ed Del Rio is excited about joining the new league, citing the challenge and better competition. "The Interhigh doesn't have any teams so we applied and were accepted," Del Rio said. "This way we get to compete against some of the better soccer teams in the area."

Bob Headen, head football coach at H.D. Woodson, was presented the National Federation Interscholastic Coaches Association 1984-85 Distinguished Service Award this summer. Headen, who has coached several sports since coming into the D.C. Public School system in 1964, was honored because he has been chosen Section I (East Coast) coach of the year from various associations nine times in the past 17 years. Headen is presently the head football and girls basketball coach.

All-Met basketball players Mark Tillmon of Gonzaga, David Butler of Coolidge, Steve Hood of DeMatha and Dennis Scott of Flint Hill were named to the 12-player all-league team in the Sidwell Friends Summer League. Others named were McKinley's Carlos Thomas and Anthony Tucker, Spingarn's Ricky Lewis, Gonzaga's Perry Carter, Eastern's James Boomer, DeMatha's John Gwynn, Dunbar's Anthony Beagle and Coolidge's Derrick Davis.

Scott was the league's top scorer with a 27.0 average. Tillmon, second with a 22.5 average, combined with Carter to lead Gonzaga to the championship with a 67-63 overtime win over McKinley. In the all-star game, Carter had 18 points, Tillmon added 17 and Scott finished with 16 as the West defeated the East, 115-95. Gwynn led the losers with 20.