The best and brightest of the region's high school students -- including 20 from Maryland -- have been awarded Chancellor's Scholarships to the University of Maryland's College Park campus, the school said last week.

Mercy Coogan, a spokeswoman for the Office of Institutional Advancement, said the 24 students awarded the prestigious, four-year scholarships were selected from about 1,300 nominees.

The Chancellor's Scholars program is funded by more than 100 corporations, foundations and individuals -- including faculty, alumni and state legislators -- who provide annual gifts or endowments.

The list of 1985 Chancellor's Scholars and their sponsors follows:

Janeane Bast, Perry Hall H.S., sponsor TRW Systems; Russell Beall, Atholton H.S., sponsor C&P Telephone; Anne Marie Brelin, Archbishop Prendergast H.S. of Drexel Hill, Pa., sponsor First American Bank of Maryland; Brian Brooks, C. Milton Wright H.S., sponsor Waldo Burnside; Jonathon Calure, Our Lady of Good Counsel H.S., sponsor Bamberger's; Palmyra Catravas, Walt Whitman H.S., Bethesda, sponsor Alumni Association International; Lori Cooperman, Layton H.S., Arlington, sponsor Alumni Association International.

Also, Mark Dell'Acqua, Oakland Mills H.S., sponsor Pfizer Medical Systems Inc., Clare Ewald, Bel Air H.S., sponsor Planning Research Corp.; James Foster, Bel Air H.S., sponsor Alumni Association International; William Hix, Mount Hebron H.S., sponsor Albert Folop; James Holland, Sherwood H.S., sponsor AAI Corporation; Robert Kazden, Northwood H.S., sponsor Sperry Corp.; Ingrid Kohlstadt, Dundalk H.S., Dundalk, Md., sponsor Vitro Laboratories.

Also, Thomas Mason, Middleton H.S., sponsor faculty and staff, UMCP; Clay McQueen, Academy of New Church H.S., sponsor Hale Stores; Ngoc-Ha Thi Nguyen, J.E.B. Stuart H.S., Falls Church, sponsor Washington Gas Light Co.; Brian Rinehart, Parkside H.S., sponsor Alumni Association International; Naomi Ruff, Charles E. Smith Jewish Day School, sponsor Digital Equipment Corp.; Glen Sanders, T.S. Wooton H.S., sponsor Washington Gas Light Co.; James Skarbek, Mount Hebron H.S. sponsor Washington Gas Light Co.; Joann Lee Speer, High Point H.S., Beltsville, sponsor The Hearst Foundation; Cheryl Stringfellow, Crossland H.S., sponsor faculty and staff UMCP; Kimberly Taylor, Roland Park H.S., sponsor Washington Gas Light Co.