Twenty-three U.S. Geological Survey employes have received Meritorious Service Awards, the second highest honor given by the Department of the Interior.

Nine USGS employes were given Superior Service Awards, the third highest presented by the department, and 28 were honored with length-of-service awards, including nine for 40 years of federal service. An Outstanding Handicapped Award was presented to Don Price, supervisory hydrologist from Midvale, Utah, for exceptional job performance although he is legally blind and has been handicapped by a stroke.

Award winners, who received the awards in Reston last month:

Meritorious Service Awards: K. Eric Anderson, mapping center chief, of Reston; Arthur E. Bittenbender, computer chief geologist, of New Carrollton; William F. Cannon, associate chief geologist, of Reston; Alberto Condes, hydrologist, of Fairfax; Paul A. Denett, contract specialist, of Reston; Howard T. Evans Jr., research chemist, of Bethesda; Francis J. Flanagan, chemist, of Washington; David W. Folger, geologist, of West Falmouth, Mass.; Clifton J. Fry Jr., supervisory cartographer, of Fairfax; Richard Goldsmith, geologist, of Reston; William J. Jones, supervisory cartographer, of Gaithersburg; Frank G. Lesure, geologist, of McLean; William B. Mann IV, hydrologist, of Reston; Rollin F. Nelson, chief, office of management services, of Herndon; Gary W. North, assistant division chief for information and data services, of Reston; Louis Pavlides, geologist, of College Park; Marylou D. Pectol, personnel management specialist, of Annandale; Donald R. Peters, safety officer, of Reston; John Pojeta Jr., geologist, of Rockville; Rudolph Raspet, engineering technician, of Silver Spring; Anne C. Sangree, geologist, of Washington; Gene A. Thorley, research physical scientist, of Reston; Richard E. Witmer, assistant division chief for plans and operations, of Oakton.

Superior Service Awards: Joseph A. Aquilino, systems programmer, of Herndon; Owen P. Bricker, hydrologist, of White Hall, Md.; Adolph F. Cecula Jr., computer specialist, of Oakton; Henry T. Davis, administrative officer, of Reston; Linda C. Friedman, hydrologist, of Herndon; Judy A. George, employe relation specialist, of Sterling; Thomas W. Henry, geologist, of Fairfax; John D. McGurk, position classification specialist, of Chantilly; Juergen Reinhart, geologist, of Leesburg.

Forty-year Service Awards: Esma Y. Campbell, chemist, of Arlington; Margaret Cooper, geologist, of Washington; John F. Greer, stockman, of Temple Hills; John C. Kammerer, hydrologist, of Arlington; Jack D. Kidwell, cartographer, of Arlington; Russell H. Langford, associate chief hydrologist, of Arlington; Louis Pavlides, geologist, of College Park; Rupert B. Southard Jr., chief, National Mapping Division, of Fairfax; Thomas W. Stern, geologist, of Washington.