Retiring Employe Honored

James S. Payne, 86, of Fairfax City, recently retired as a Fairfax County Courthouse custodian. Before Payne's three-decade career with the county, he worked for nearly 40 years with the federal government. The judges of the Circuit Court gave Payne a farewell luncheon, and the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors honored Payne with a resolution during their Jan. 27 meeting. Fire Dept. Promotions

Fire Chief Thomas M. Hawkins Jr. has announced the following promotions in the Arlington County Fire Department:

Promoted to lieutenant -- Lewis A. Cooper of Waldorf, Richard A. Genest of Woodbridge, Elbert F. Green of Arlington, Dannie A. Harrison of Capitol Heights, Richard J. Morris of Arlington and Richard C. Slusher of Dale City.

Promoted to captain -- Robert S. DiTrapani of Manassas and James E. Kiser of Sterling.

Robert T. Cuff of Silver Spring has been promoted to station commander and George O. Lyon of Waldorf has been promoted to battalion chief.

Lt. Stevan Hynson of Fredericksburg has been appointed public education/information officer and Lt. Joe Malcom of Arlington will assist the training bureau as the assistant training officer. Students Named to Council

The following students have been named to the Student Business Council of the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce for 1985-86: president, Joyce Monroe of W.T. Woodson High School; vice president, Kendra Fain of Mount Vernon High School and secretary, Jill Hesse of West Springfield High School.

Representing their districts as vice presidents are: Area I, Rena Reichards of Hayfield High School; Area II, Deanne Koury of Oakton High School; Area III, Ben Ritter of Marshall High School and Area IV, Brandy Nassar of Fairfax High School.

Council members are chosen for leadership and academic abilities. It is an "opportunity for high school students to enrich their course work with hands-on experience in the business community," said Chamber President James P. Popino. Presidential Award Winner

Philip A. Selwyn of McLean is one of the recipients of the 1985 Presidential Rank Award for the Civil Service System. Selwyn received the Presidential Meritorious Senior Executive award for his management of the Office of Naval Technology.

The Presidential Rank awards were created in 1978 to reward senior civil service employes. Chemistry Teacher Honored

Alfred E. Saieed of Oakton has received the Leo Schubert Memorial Award for outstanding teaching of high school chemistry. Saieed has been teaching chemistry at James Madison High School in Fairfax County for 19 years.