Fairfax City Wins Award

Fairfax City was awarded a Distinguished Service Citation for its beautification efforts by Keep Virginia Beautiful in a ceremony at the state Capitol. Jack Kalina, chairman of Fairfax City's Community Appearance Committee, received the award on behalf of the city from Jeannie Baliles, wife of the governor. 17 McLean Students Picked

Seventeen McLean High School band students have been selected to perform in the Regional Wind Ensemble and Senior Regional Symphonic Band concerts at Chantilly High School.

The Wind Ensemble members are Brian Cole, Aaron Peck, Brian Casper, Richard Berman, Robert Bunger and Stephanie Bassler. Those making the Senior Regional Symphonic Band are Beth Roberts, Corinne Elbaz, Catherine Jorgens, Sean Connell, Jay Mitchell, Randy Goss, Sebastian Dunne, Mike Murphy, Bill Stuckwisch, Richard Mullen and David Sielaty. Alternates are Carol Arthur, Mike Mitchell, Kevin Rayford and John Kelly. Finalist in Poster Contest

Andrew Mark Ulrich, 3, the son of Lloyd and Elaine Ulrich of Annandale, has been named a finalist in a national poster child contest sponsored by the Council for Better Hearing and Speech Month in May. Andrew, who attends the auditory-oral program at Camelot Center in Camelot Elementary School, was selected from more than 300 entries from across the country. Winners in Bowl for Breath

The following were among the winners of the 1985 Pizza Hut Bowl for Breath contest for the benefit of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation: grand prize winner Ken Gould of Falls Church, who collected $6,959 from 1,391 sponsors; David Serota of Herndon, who collected $1,347; Conor Sullivan, 7, from Falls Church, who collected $1,751; Robin Mickells, 10, of Fairfax, who collected $1,647, and Stephanie Blum of Vienna, who collected $999.

The Bowl for Breath contest is a yearly event that supports research, care and public and professional education through the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. 2 Win Trade Scholarships

The International Trade Association of Northern Virginia has presented scholarships to Teresa M. DeLuca of Springfield and R. Timothy Eichers of Arlington, both students at George Mason University. The scholarships are presented each year to two outstanding students of international trade. Fairfax City Honors Workers

The following members of Fairfax City boards, commissions and Volunteer Fire Department received Volunteer Service Awards: 15 years -- Harold E. Erwin and Theodore F. Grefe, Building Code and Appeals Board; Lucille Harter, General Registrar's Office; James C. Wyckoff Jr., Board of Architectural Review.

Ten years -- Earl J. Anderson and Francis Appler, Personnel Advisory Board; John H. Hunton, Building Code and Appeals Board; Raymond Murphy Jr., Transportation Safety Commission.

Five years -- Margaret K. Adams, Community Appearance Committee; Nancy Berga and Patricia Coe, General Registrar's Office; Margaret Brown, Commission on the Arts; Robert Deitchman, Maryellen Kelley, Carol K. MacNeil, Arthur Paolicelli and Margaret Swartz, Board of Housing and Hygiene; Carl Billingsley, William Fourqurean, John Rehbock and Russell Stewart, Volunteer Fire Department; James A. Kladder, School Board; Clesson McDonald, Transportation Safety Commission; Mary Petersen, Planning Commission; George F. Reid Jr., Park and Recreation Advisory Board. -- Caroline Johnston

Items of interest about people who live or work in Fairfax County, Arlington County, Fairfax City and Falls Church may be sent to The Washington Post, Fairfax Bureau, 4010 University Dr. #1, Fairfax, Va. 22030. Please include addresses and day and evening telephone numbers. For information, call 352-2560.