James R. Larkin of McLean, a trustee of the Fairfax County Public Schools Education Foundation, Inc., is heading up a 1986 summer employment program for Fairfax County public school teachers. The foundation is an organization of community business leaders formed to finance projects not eligible for public funding. Larkin, vice president of TRW, has contacted more than 100 county businesses to seek summer positions for teachers.

According to School Superintendent Robert R. Spillane, "The purpose of the summer employment program is to enhance the relationship between the education and business communities of the county by providing teachers with exposure to the business environment and by offering to business short-term professional and productive employes. The fact that it will supplement teachers' incomes is another valuable ingredient."

Any Fairfax County business interested in hiring teachers for the summer can contact Larkin at TRW, 2751 Prosperity Ave., Fairfax, Va. 22030. Student Wins Essay Contest

Gayle R. Hill, a senior at Falls Church High School, is the 1986 winner of the National Association of Blacks Within Government essay contest. Hill competed with 100 students from the Washington metropolitan area, Baltimore city schools and the state of Delaware who wrote essays on the theme, "Why Africa Is Important to Us." Hill received a $500 scholarship and a plaque. Business 'Man of the Year'

W. Rembert Simpson of Fairfax City has been named Man of the Year for Distinguished Service to the Business Community by the Central Fairfax Chamber of Commerce. Simpson's service to the business and civic community began with positions as assistant resident engineer at the Virginia Department of Highways and Transportation in Fairfax, director of public works for Fairfax City and project manager of a private construction company. Simpson has served on the Fairfax City Council, the City's Planning Commission and is vice chairman of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Since 1968 he has been self-employed in the building business. Arlington Chamber Elects

Stephen P. Caruthers has been elected 1986 president of the Arlington Chamber of Commerce. Assisting him will be the following officers and members of the executive committee: first vice president, Charles B. DeLashmutt; second vice president, Monte Davis; third vice president, Leon T. Delyannis; secretary-treasurer, Robert E. Skinner; senior elected board representative, John T. Baker; junior elected board representative, Henry O. Lampe; immediate past president, David M. Guernsey and past president, Robert L. Gratton.