Members of the T.C. Williams High School, Francis C. Hammond Junior High School and George Washington Junior High School bands were among students from 17 schools in District 10 of the Virginia Music Educators Association and the Virginia Band and Orchestra Directors Association who were selected by audition to perform in a recent all-district band concert at Hayfield Secondary School.

Michelle Clover of T.C. Williams was named first chair flute for all-district band's Senior Wind Ensemble and percussionist Ethan Avery of T.C. Williams also was named to the ensemble. T.C. Williams Students named to the Senior Symphonic Band were Paul Erion, first chair tuba; Adam Hoey and Justin Martino, first and second chair tenor saxophone; Jeremy Mereness, second chair oboe; Howard Sorg, second chair bassoon; Marsha Banks, clarinet; Kevin Harris, alto saxophone; Bernard Johnson, tuba; Lara Palincsar, flute, and Robert Calhoun, trumpet.

Hammond students named to the Junior Symphonic Band were Diana Brunstrum and Audrey Billingsley, flute; Garrick Zoeter and Monica Banks, clarinet.

George Washington students named to the Junior Symphonic Band were Erin Shepherd, first chair tenor sax; Scott Rush, first chair tuba; Jay Chadwick, second chair French horn; Daniel Doyle, third chair French horn; William Doyle, second chair clarinet; Jessica Cornette, second chair oboe; Gretchen Abler, third chair flute; Zachary Struyk, Chris Spencer and Jared Antevil, trumpet, and Gordon Calhoun, B-flat clarinet.