The following students were winners in an essay contest sponsored by the Vienna Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW): first prize went to Sarah Kahn, a student at Kilmer Intermediate School; second prize, Katy Bonty, a student at Luther Jackson Intermediate; third prize, Peter Hutton from Kilmer Intermediate. There were 54 entries in the junior high school division.

In the elementary school division, the following students were winners in a field of 42 entries: first prize went to Eric Graybill, a student at Louise Archer Elementary School; second prize, Ryan Higginbothan, a student at Flint Hill; and third prize, Eunha Cho, also a student at Louise Archer.

The Vienna AAUW sponsored the contest in recognition of National Women's History Week. Winners were awarded books and certificates and, with their families, were invited to the awards ceremony and dinner.

Students receiving honorable mention were: Kaare Chaffee, Tanya Brito, Julie Fitch, Matthew Kattenburg and Chris Walsh. PTA National Finalist

Tres Herndon, the son of Al and Charlotte Herndon of Herndon, is a first-place winner on the state level in the National Parents and Teachers 1986 Reflections Project. Herndon's literary entry has been sent to the national level for judging and will be a part of an exhibit at the National PTA Convention in Little Rock, Ark. in June. Herndon is in the sixth grade at Hutchison Elementary School. Regional Science Winners

Joseph Shay, a senior at Marshall High School and Jeffrey Skerker, a freshman at Jefferson High School, will compete in the 37th International Science and Engineering Fair in Fort Worth, Tex., next month. They recently were chosen senior division grand prize winners in the Areas II and III regional science and engineering fair at Robinson Secondary School. Shay's entry was "Effects of Plant Hormone N-6 Benzyladenine on Beans and Differential Grasshoppers" and Skerker's entry was "Kinetics Sucrose Hydrolysis and Invertase Thermoinactivation.

Robert Adams, a senior at Woodson High School, was the alternate winner in the senior division. Local Scientists Elected Alan R. Stevens of Reston and Alden P. Colvocoresses of Fairfax, mapping scientists with the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), are the new president and second vice president, respectively, of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS). ASPRS is a national organization of 9,600 cartographers, engineers, surveyors, photogrammetrists and remote-sensing scientists.

Stevens is chief of the operations branch of the USGS Eastern Mapping Center in Reston and Colvocoresses is a research cartographer at the USGS.