A victory for an 11th-hour write-in candidate over an incumbent council member in Cheverly and a clean sweep for Capitol Heights mayoral candidate Vivian Dodson and her slate of six council candidates highlighted 11 municipal elections held yesterday in Prince George's and Montgomery counties.

The suprise of the Cheverly election came in Ward 2, where write-in candidate Larry Beyna defeated council member Susan M. Sokol by 43 votes out of 219 cast.

Beyna said he entered the race last week because Sokol's husband would be a developer of a subdivision proposed in Cheverly and Beyna felt Sokol had a conflict of interest even though she abstained on votes involving that development.

Cheverly Mayor Alan Dwyer defeated Patricia Glaser by a wide margin. Ward 1 council member Francis George, who was cleared of an alleged town ethics code violation earlier this year, received three write-in votes for mayor.

In Ward 4, Fred Price Jr. defeated Harold L. Howard and Thurman McClain Jr.

Dwyer said he was pleased at what he said was a "near record" turnout for the election -- about a third of the town's 3,300 registered voters.

In the Capitol Heights mayor's race, Town Council member Dodson defeated newcomer Juan Lacey. Dodson's slate of council candidates, which included several incumbents, took all six council seats, shutting out Lacey's slate of newcomer council candidates.

Dodson said last night she was excited at her victory and her main objective as mayor will be to propose construction of a town civic center.

In District Heights, Americo Sesso defeated W. Eric Cloud for a Ward 1 council seat.

Edmonston council member James Daley Sr. defeated Burch Folsom for the Ward 1 seat. Incumbent Joseph Horan won the Ward 2 seat with 110 votes, defeating Richard Marion, a write-in candidate who received 12 votes.

In Fairmount Heights, incumbents Larry S. Hughes, Jefferson Johnson and newcomer Nancy Lee O. Saxon defeated incumbent Arthur H. Jackson Jr. and George Davis for three at-large council seats.

In Laytonsville, incumbent Peter Sadler retained his council seat, while William T. Fitts narrowly defeated Jeffery C. Taylor for a second seat.

Candidates in five municipalities were elected without opposition. In Cottage City, incumbents Diane Collins and Fred Harter retained their Wards 2 and 3 seats, respectively, and newcomer Anne Reeside was elected to the Ward 4 post. In Garrett Park, William Prinz became mayor, while incumbent Paul Edlund and newcomer George Fitzpatrick won two at-large council seats. Morningside Mayor Gerald A. Glaubitz and council members Charles J. Kiker and Walter J. Sienkiewich were reelected. In New Carrollton, Mayor Andrew C. Hanko and council members Rose M. Hurdle and Robert E. Martini were reelected. In North Brentwood, Ward 2 council member Petrella Robinson and Ward 3 council member Rudolf Jones were reelected.