Patrick Roulet, a Bishop Ireton High School senior, was chosen by audition to perform with the National Symphony Orchestra in a recent concert. Roulet, a percussionist, is a member of the National Symphony Orchestra's Youth Fellowship Program, which provides high school students in the metropolitan area with the opportunity to take music lessons from a symphony member, attend rehearsals and concerts, and participate in seminars and discussions with musicians, conductors and NSO management. Burgundy Farms' New Director

Joseph R. Marchese will assume the position of director of the Burgundy Farm Country Day School in Alexandria, effective this summer. Burgundy Farm Country Day School, a cooperative coeducational school for kindergarten through eighth grade students, operates a summer day camp, a summer boarding camp in West Virginia, and extended day and enrichment programs. Marchese earned a master's degree in secondary education at Central Connecticut State University. Phi Beta Kappa Inductee

Ann R. Modlin, a 1984 graduate of T.C. Williams High School and the class valedictorian, has been initiated into the Alpha of North Carolina chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, an academic honor society, at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Home Economist Honored

Irene V. Kane of Alexandria has been named Outstanding Home Economist in Homemaking and Community Service by the Virginia Home Economics Association. Kane was cited for her work on a recent project conducted by the association, which raised more than $10,000 for the American Home Economics Association Foundation's annual grant program. Teacher Excellence Awarded

The following public and private school teachers received the 1986 Alexandria Chamber of Commerce's Excellence In Education Award: Ann D. Anderson, a remedial reading teacher at Mount Vernon Community Center School; Vianna Barksdale, an English and history teacher at St. Agnes School; Gerald Brobst, the orchestra director at T.C. Williams High School; Nancy Cox, a journalism and government teacher at T.C. Williams High School; Jack Dahlinger, band director at T.C. Williams High School; Laurie Hagel-Seymour, a teacher of learning disabled and language delayed students at John Adams Elementary School; Lucien Geer, director of college counseling and a math instructor at Episcopal High School; Carol Heiderman, a reading teacher at John Adams Elementary School; Jalna Jones, a teacher in the academically talented program at James K. Polk Elementary School; Mary Payne, chairwoman of the English department at T.C. Williams High School; Lilmar Taylor-Williams, a third grade teacher at Mount Vernon Community Center School, and Cheryl Wright, a first grade teacher at George Mason Elementary School. The winners were honored at a recent Chamber of Commerce luncheon.