Eighth-graders Richard Payling-Wright and Sheryl Baxter, and seventh-grader Jeff Sternberg were the grand prize winners in the junior division at the Areas II and III regional science and engineering fair held recently at Robinson Secondary School.

Payling-Wright attends Longfellow Intermediate, while Baxter and Sternberg attend Frost Intermediate.

Payling-Wright, whose entry was titled "The Geometry of Tree Growth Patterns," will be the only intermediate school student from Fairfax County attending the 37th International Science and Engineering Fair in Fort Worth. Herndon Housing Commission

Herndon Mayor Richard C. Thoesen has appointed seven Herndon residents to the newly formed Elderly Housing Commission, which will be examining the need to provide good, affordable housing for senior citizens within the town.

Council member Robert Jensen will head the commission, whose members are Leigh A. Barner, Violet Carmona-Bateman, Joseph J. Francis, Janis Clark Rieley, Doris Finch Sell and R. Gale Wilson.

Commission members will report to the mayor at four-month intervals, with the final report due March 31, 1987. Longfellow Math Champions

The Longfellow Intermediate School Mathcounts team, coached by Vernon Williams, won first place in the Northern Virginia mathematics competition and went on to win first place in the state competition.

Members of the Mathcounts team are: Owen Thomas, Matthew Bradford, Michael Puri, Andrew Kirmse, Eric Tang and Matthew Edwards. Andrew Kirmse won the first-place individual trophy and special topics plaque and Owen Thomas won the second-place individual trophy and fourth-place special topics plaque.

Sponsors for the team include NASA, the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, the U.S. Department of Education and the National Society of Professional Engineers. Leadership Award Winners

Joyce Monroe of Annandale was one of several leaders of the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce Student Business Council presented with awards for their outstanding leadership ability. Monroe, a senior at W.T. Woodson High School, also was recognized recently as Virginia's Marketing Student of the Year by Virginia's Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA). She received the award based on her overall school record, scholastic and vocational standing, professional activities, a written essay and an interview. Monroe is president of the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce Student Business Council.

Other leaders of the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce Student Business Council who were honored include Kendra Bryant, vice president and Jill Hesse, secretary, both students at West Springfield High School.

Presented with plaques were district vice presidents Rena Reichard, Area I, Hayfield High School; Deanne Koury, Area II, Oakton High School; Ben Ritter, Area III, Marshall High School and Brandi Nassar, Area IV, Fairfax High School.