Young Black Writers Honored

The Links, a national organization of black professional women, has announced the winners of its 1986 Talent Search for Young Black Writers.

Karla Smith of the School Without Walls, Brent Edwards of St. Albans School and Jocelyn Coleman of Woodrow Wilson High School are the first, second and third prize winners in the poetry division. In the prose division, Gregory Woodson of Woodrow Wilson High School took first place, followed by Smith and Edwards.

Prizes of $200, $100 and $50 in each division were awarded to the winners at a ceremony at the Carnegie Library hosted by Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Gwendolyn Brooks, who is poetry consultant to the Library of Congress.

Lung Group Picks Official

John J. Sheehan has been elected to the national board of directors of the American Lung Association (ALA).

Sheehan is assistant to the president of the United Steelworkers of America and the director of its legislative department. His involvement with the ALA sprang from the union's interest in environmental and occupational health hazards.

Sheehan was elected at the annual meeting of the ALA and its medical division, the American Thoracic Society, this month in Kansas City.

He will work on the ALA's government relations, encouraging legislation to promote public health care and prevention of lung disease.

Metro Honors Employe

Leroy Walker of Southeast has been selected by Metro as one of its top three rail service employes for 1985. Walker began work for the transit authority as a bus driver in 1966. In 1978, he transferred to rail service, and in 1982 was made a rail supervisor.

Walker was cited for coordinating Metrorail's extended hours during the Christmas and New Year's holidays.