Agnes Meyer Awards

Teachers from 12 local school districts were honored May 13 with the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards, given annually by The Washington Post.

Selection is based on excellence in teaching and contributions to public education in the Washington area. Teachers can be nominated by their peers, superiors, parents, the parent-teacher association or students. Winners are chosen by the administration of each school system.

Agnes Meyer, an avid proponent of public education in Washington, was the wife of former Washington Post publisher Eugene Meyer and the mother of Katharine Graham, chairman of the board of The Washington Post Company.

Winners of the 1986 Agnes Meyer award are:

*Ruth Ann Davis, third grade teacher, Mount Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School, Nanjemoy, Md.

*Hunter L. Hall, reading teacher, Jefferson Junior High School, Washington, D.C.

*Gail Kahn, teacher in the grades 4-6 gifted and talented program, George Mason Elementary School, Alexandria.

*Steven J. Klass, English teacher, George Mason Junior/Senior High School, Falls Church.

*Sara Jane Knight, 11th grade U.S. history teacher, Yorktown High School, Arlington.

*Margaret O. Kaminsky, English teacher, Osbourn High School, Manassas.

*Betty Lee, first grade teacher, Montpelier Elementary School, Laurel.

*Shirley G. Lynn, second grade teacher, Round Hill Elementary School, Round Hill.

*Christy Meyer, first grade teacher, Highland View Elementary School, Silver Spring.

*Lewis F. Miller, English teacher, Manassas Park Intermediate School, Manassas Park.

*Nancy Philips White, mathematics teacher, Gar-Field Senior High School, Woodbridge.

*Raymond Wilkins, fine and performing arts teacher, South Lakes High School, Reston.

Katharine Graham and Donald E. Graham, publisher of The Washington Post, presented each teacher with a check for $2,000 and a Steuben glass apple in a ceremony held at The Post building.

Post vice president/communications Vincent Reed, a former D.C. superintendent of schools, welcomed guests including John F. Herrity, chairman of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors; D.C. Council Chairman David A. Clarke, and several area school superintendents. Merit Scholars

Christine Grahl, Jennifer Cogley and Robert Rose have been named 1986 Merit Scholars from the District.

Grahl, who studies at the Karachi American School in Pakistan, will attend the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg.

Cogley, of Woodrow Wilson Senior High, will study theater and education at Oberlin College. She is president of Wilson's drama club and belongs to the school choir and the National Honor Society.

Rose, also a student at Wilson, will study public communications at Syracuse University in New York. He is a member of the National Honor Society, the Wilson concert band and the Latin, German and ski clubs. Correction

Due to incorrect information provided by The Links, the name of one of the winners in its Search for Young Black Writers was incorrect in last week's District Weekly. Gregory Goodwin of Woodrow Wilson High School won first prize in the prose category.