Winning Writers Named

Jennifer Stafford, Michael Seccuro and Heather Weyers won first-place honors in George Washington Junior High School's second annual writing contest, sponsored by the school's English department. Almost 600 entries written by seventh, eighth and ninth grade students were judged in fiction, nonfiction and poetry. Stafford won the fiction award for a story entitled "The Secret." Seccuro won for a nonfiction article entitled "Iacocca" and Weyers won for a poem called "A Thousand." The winners received $25 gift certificates from Olsson's Books-Records and were given certificates of merit at a school awards assembly. Teacher Wins Fellowship

Elizabeth Heimbach, a Latin teacher at St. Stephen's School in Alexandria, has been named a winner of a $4,500 Rockefeller Foundation fellowship. The fellowships were awarded to 95 of the 900 applicants among full-time high school foreign language teachers in the United States and the Virgin Islands and teachers in American schools abroad.Heimbach intends to spend eight weeks this summer preparing a manuscript about the lives of victims of Vesuvius, who died when the volcano erupted in 79 A.D. Volunteers Honored

The Alexandria Community Mental Health Center recently recognized more than 50 volunteers who have aided the Center and its clients. Those honored were: Marcia Alcoser, Anna Allison, Leroy Anderson, Kathy Ballew, Vincent Banfi, Victoria Barnes, Nellie Bostick, Fern Caldwell, Elena Cohen, Isabel Corradine, Phyllis Dimmick, Deena Dishroon, Patrick Dolan, Becky Eastburn, Mary Helen Fitzgerald, Karin Gagnon, Peggy Gerald, Bob Gould, Emma Green, Jean Griffin, Irene Haas-Burton, Tom Harvey, Cathy Hlavin, Joyce Hopson-King, Clare Iseley, Theresa Ives, Gillian Kaplin, Helen Kraft, Ivy Lansdown, Brenda Lowell, Marilyn McCabe, Angelina McCurry, Charlene Mecklenburg, Ann Morris, Judy Murphy, Norman Oakley, Janet Oglesby-Kim, Glen Pelishek, Helen Pelton, Karen Pollok, Dan Ragland, Diana Regan, Judith Roth, Lois Runaldue, Nancy Schmit, Shirley Siegel, Cara Supple, Elizabeth Swearingen, Gita Taghipour, Deidre Trussell, Adelaide Turner, Chris Vaughan, Margaret Waller, Beverly Wheeler, Leon Wight, Bettye Jeanne Willis, Diane Vander Wielen and Mike Wiener. Certificates were presented to the volunteers by Mayor James P. Moran Jr. and E. Judith Krasnow, center director. National Resource Fellow Named

Denise M. Taylor, a 1982 graduate of St. Mary's Academy in Alexandria, was recently awarded a 1986-1987 National Resource Fellowship from the Russian and East European Studies Institute at Indiana University. Taylor graduated magna cum laude in international studies from the University of South Carolina. She will study political science at Indiana University Graduate School, where the fellowship will provide full tuition and $11,000 in stipends for two years of study. Chemistry Team Finalists

Robert Calhoun of T.C. Williams High School has been selected as one of 20 finalists who will compete to represent the United States in the International Chemistry Olympiad in Leiden, Holland, in July. The finalists were selected from 600 high school students across the nation who placed highest in national chemistry exams given to more than 7,000 chemistry students. They will meet in June at the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs for a 12-day study camp sponsored by the American Chemical Society. The top four students will represent the United States in Holland in the Olympiad, which tests students' knowledge of chemistry through exams and laboratory work. -- Mary Jane Johnson

Send items of interest about people who live or work in Alexandria to The Washington Post, 510 King St., Suite 310, Alexandria, Va. 22314. Please include day and evening telephone numbers. Black and white photos, which cannot be returned, may be included.