The high school sports season in the District ended the way it began nine months ago: quietly. No scandals, no major protests, no major improvements.

The year did produce a few surprises, though, including Coolidge's Interhigh League double championship in football and boys basketball, Gonzaga's domination of DeMatha on the basketball court and the approval of the 2.0 required grade-point average for athletes in the D.C. public schools.

The required average goes into effect in September for incoming sophomore students only. It will not apply to those students passing to grades 11-12 for the upcoming football season, but will apply to all students for the second advisory (November).

Coolidge became the first school in 16 years to win both the league football and basketball crowns. Coolidge, under the coaching of Sam Taylor, won the West football crown and easily defeated H.D. Woodson in the championship game Thanksgiving at RFK Stadium.

Archbishop Carroll's youth matured in time to give longtime Coach Maus Collins another Metro Conference football title. The Lions played outstanding football the closing three weeks, defeating Gonzaga, McNamara and DeMatha.

Despite the absence of basketball all-America center David Butler, an academic casualty, Coolidge won the regular season, the Interhigh tournament and the city title. The Colts won a school-record 26 games, their final win being a 62-60 triumph over Gonzaga at Cole Field House in the City Championship.

The tandem of Tandreia Green and Kammy Brown helped H.D. Woodson win a third straight girls Interhigh League basketball championship. The Warriors compiled a fantastic 88-4 mark in the last three seasons.

Led by The Washington Post Player of the Year Mark Tillmon and Perry Carter, Gonzaga also enjoyed a marvelous season, winning a school-record 29 games and its first basketball championship. The Purple Eagles defeated perennial power DeMatha three times.

Ballou and Dunbar posted unbeaten marks in regular season and tournament play to win the Interhigh baseball and softball championships, respectively. The Crimson Tide rallied to upend Wilson, 11-9, in the girls softball title game. All-Met Cortez West pitched and batted Ballou past Wilson, 5-1, in the baseball tournament final.

St. Albans won an unprecedented ninth consecutive IAC baseball title.

West and catcher Jose Almonte of Wilson were the top selections for the all-Interhigh baseball team. Other players selected were Ballou catcher Aaron McFarland, pitcher/outfielder Jose Freeman and infielder William Chick; Wilson infielder John McCarthy, outfielder Jamie Kane and pitcher Gy Kirk; Theodore Roosevelt pitcher/outfielder Romon Brito; Coolidge pitcher Mark McCutcheon and catcher Jay Hall; H.D. Woodson pitcher Craig Green and infielder/pitcher Henderson Mosley, and Spingarn pitcher/infielder Sean Middleton.

Named to the coaches' all-IAC baseball team were St. Albans pitcher Ian McDonald, outfielder Peter Woelflein and infielders Uladen Daudruad and Steve Bayles; Sidwell Friends pitcher Terry Williams and infielder Nat Smith; Landon infielder John Muckelbaurer; Georgetown Prep pitcher Tom Scanlon and outfielder Mike Scruggs; Episcopal catcher Bobby Rimmer, St. Stephen's infielder Brad Taylor and Bullis catcher Ed Kavanagh.

Named to the coaches' all-Metro Conference team were O'Connell pitcher Brian Render and infielder Mike Dignan; Good Counsel pitcher Tony Long, infielder Jim Wilkerson and outfielder Rich Marcinko; Gonzaga infielder Mike Miller and outfielder Eric Stokesberry; Carroll outfielder Damian Francella; DeMatha catcher Kevin Campbell and St. John's infielder Tony Ribas and designated hitter Mike O'Neill.