Mother of the Year Named

Gwendolyn Jo Carlberg was named Mother of the Year by the Old Town Holiday Inn of Alexandria. A past president of the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce, she is a member of the Board of Conservation and Economic Development for the State of Virginia, president of the Alexandria Bar Association and a newly elected member of the board of St. Agnes School. She was cited for her ability to balance her law practice, community involvement and family life. Carlberg and her husband, Ron Carlberg, an international trader, are the parents of a 13-year-old daughter, Jodie, a student at St. Agnes. College Student Wins Award

Anna Magliocco, a third-year student at Northeastern University, has received the school President's Award for academic excellence, presented annually to the top five students in each class and in each cooperative education division in the university. Magliocco serves as an investigative aide with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration as part of a five year criminal justice/law enforcement cooperative education program. She is also an assistant adviser to the Alexandria Police Department Explorer Post and volunteers as a clerk/typist two nights a week in the Alexandria Police Department. Television Award Winner Chosen

Dick Long of Skyhill Road in Alexandria recently won a 1986 Gold Screen award in a competition sponsored by the National Association of Government Communicators for excellence in television production. Long's film, "AMC Journal XIV, The Story of Army Flight -- From the Wright Brothers to Space," was one of 11 winners chosen from 52 television films from across the nation. The film will be broadcast on "AMC Journal," television show aired worldwide on American Forces Radio and Television Service and nationally. Episcopal Students Honored

The following students from Episcopal High School in Alexandria were honored at a year-end awards ceremony: Joseph Patrick Archie III, Fred Washington Bailey III, James Winslow Bard, James Orin Bass III, Richard Leigh Beaver, Frederick Dale Graham Bender, Alexander Lytton Bolen, Robert Edson Briggs Jr., Michael David Cheng, Wade Harrison Coleman Jr., John Stephenson Frierson Cook, Arthur Anthony Donadio, James Russell Forsythe, Christopher Moher Giblin, Thomas McBride Goodrum, David Stanford Haddock, Todd Robert Henrich, Vincent Stafford Hodge Jr., Timothy Hampton Jester, Christopher Carrington Jordan, George Franklin Longino IV, Robert Christopher MacKnight, Michael John Mullen, Agustus Scott Pietsch, William Baxter Waddill Rand, Robert Henderson Rimmer IV, Leighton Parks Roper III, Stephenson Pope Shuford, Khristian Dane Snowden, Edward Devereux Spearman, Wayt Bell Timberlake IV, Nelson Otis Tyrone III, Brenton Dale Uhler, James Winston Watts IV, Neil Jonathan Whittaker, Thomas Murray Williams Jr. and Bradford Walker Wiss.

Send items of interest about people who live or work in Alexandria to The Washington Post, 510 King St., Suite 310, Alexandria, Va. 22314. Please include addresses and day and evening telephone numbers. Black and white photos, which cannot be returned, may be included.