Pipe Band Is Tops in East

The Lionhart Pipe Band of Alexandria recently won the Eastern United States Pipe Band Championship for bands of its size. The band is composed of pipers Dan Emery, Seamus Forquer, Bonnie Hamilton, Chris Hamilton, Lewis McElroy, Chris Osborne, Mike Rackers, Ray Scott and Steve Sharp, and drummers Patti Adler, William Allen, Gordon Buckley, Dean McElroy, Harry Robb and Roxanne Russo. The band competed against five other bagpipe bands from Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, Massachussetts and Virginia to win the Balnagowan trophy. The Lionhart Pipe Band will preform during the Alexandria Highland Games Saturday and Sunday at Episcopal High School in Alexandria. Pen Women's Branch Chief

Peggy Fisher of Arlington was recently elected to a two-year term as president of the Alexandria branch of the National League of American Pen Women Inc. Approximately 6,000 professional artists, writers and composers belong to the national organization. The 126-member Alexandria branch draws membership from Northern Virginia and Maryland and is the organization's largest branch.

Alexandria Pen Women sponsor national poetry contests, local poetry readings, art shows, workshops, lectures and writer's conferences. Elected to assist Fisher were Norma Vermillion of Springfield, Bethea S. Owen of Alexandria, vice presidents; Lolete Barlow of Camp Springs, secretary; Cornelia Raring of Reston, corresponding secretary; Virginia Uhlenhop of Alexandria, treasurer; Janice Donelson of Vienna, assistant treasurer; Cile Euler of Falls Church, auditor; Wynn Lloyd of Springfield, public relations/historian; and Bettie Woehrle of Vienna, librarian. Ft. Ward Museum Gets Grant

Fort Ward Museum and Historic Site at 4301 W. Braddock Rd. recently received a $13,400 general operating support grant from the Institute of Museum Service. More than 1,300 museums from 50 states applied for the one-year grants, which were awarded to 409 museums. Wanda S. Dowell, director of the Fort Ward Museum, will administer the award, which is to be used to fund the management of the museum's collections, public relations projects and educational programs. The museum houses a permanent collection of Civil War artifacts, historical papers and exhibits. School Board Appointments

The Alexandria School Board recently made the following appointments to its advisory committees: Margene Blum, Ellen Cramer, Ken Foran, John J. Banks Jr. and students Rebecca Mullen and Kevin Maurice Harris, Arts and Humanities Committee; R. Tucker Winn, Catherine Eaton, John C. Raiford, Harry Burke and student Steve Fogleman, Budget Committee; David L. Parker, Marlene Walker and student Jennifer Seltz, Family Life Committee; Rebecca Buckbee, Diane Jarrett, Herbert Karp, Charlene Pritzker, Sandra Sandoz and Marjorie Weyers, Gifted and Talented Committee; Chester Avery, Peggy Faragasso, Mary O'Boyle Franko, Patricia-Ann Hennig, Barbara Anderson and Gayle Rush, Special Education Committee; Jerome Harrington, Bernard Murphy and student Nesrien Geerges, Substance Abuse Committee, and Norman Draper, Stewart Homme, William LeBow, Paulette Hamilton, Henry Edward Harvey Jr. and Pamela M. St. Clair, Vocational Education Committee. Bar Association Awards

Michael Campilongo, on behalf of the Alexandria Bar Association, recently accepted awards for communications and public service from the Virginia State Bar. Campilongo is a former president of the Alexandria Bar Association. The communications award was presented for the Alexandria Bar's directory, which contains photos and biographies of the Alexandria Bar's 400 members and photos of staff members for each department in the courthouse. The public service certificate was given in recognition of the association's "Art in Public Places" program, initiated in cooperation with the City of Alexandria and Alexandria Circuit Court Chief Judge Donald H. Kent. The program displays artworks, including those of Alexandria public and private school students, in the courthouse.