Fairfax Chamber Names President

Karl R. Nelson of Reston has been elected 1986-87 president of the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce. Nelson has been active in the chamber for many years as chairman of the transportation committee, vice president for economic development and first vice president. He created the chamber's first video on the roads crisis in Northern Virginia and cochaired the first Fairfax County Secondary Road Bond Referendum Citizens Task Force.

A graduate of Kent State University, Nelson is a partner in Smith-Field Insurance of Reston and Alexandria.

The team of business leaders elected to assist Nelson for the year include: First Vice President Linda Wright, president of Fairfax Savings Bank; Secretary Justin O'Donnell, president of First Virginia Bank and Treasurer Ken Crovo, regional commercial executive officer of Sovran Bank. 10 Residences Cited

Each year the City of Fairfax's Community Appearance Committee inspects every residence in the city to choose candidates for the annual Residential Appearance Awards. The following 10 residences were judged best in the city: Alvin and Irene Cowan, 10007 Blue Coat Dr.; Hal and Betty Dean, 10240 Brigade Dr.; Walter and Susan Duka, 10605 Howerton Ave.; Carl and Barbara Hertzog, 3402 Park Hill Place; Charles and Joann Holes, 3413 Brookwood Dr.; William and Jean Igoe, 4125 Evergreen Dr.; Gary and Lorraine Kincheloe, 4023 Roberts Rd.; William and Ruby Link, 4113 Lamarre Dr.; Hugh and Leola Waple, 3822 Egan Dr. and John and Barbara Will, 10105 Capeway Ct. New Titles for Officers

A new career development program for police officers has been instituted in Fairfax City. This program is an alternate career path besides promotion. Police officers selected receive a 5 percent pay increase. The new designation, Police Officer II, was awarded to the following officers: Mason Barkley, Rorry Castillo, James Gilbertson, Bernard Goletz, Thomas Lee, Roger Martin, Kevin McBrien, Lee Monroe, Ronald Phillips, Glenn Poe, Harley Shaffer, Stephen Silvious and Charles Scampinato. Scout Leader Wins Award

Kathy Flinner, the daughter of Susan and Charles Flinner of Falls Church, recently received the 1986 Presidents Award in honor of Ethel G. Harvey of Washington, a former president of the Girl Scout Council of the Nation's Capital. Flinner received the council honor for her overall personal commitment to the scouting program. Flinner has been an assistant Brownie Scout leader for two years and an assistant leader for a junior troop for one year.