Douglas B. Feaver, a Washington Post reporter and editor for 17 years, has been named Virginia editor, effective Oct. 6. He replaces William McAllister, who will join the Post's national staff as a reporter.

Feaver, 47, came to the Post in 1969 from the Norman Transcript in Oklahoma. He has held several reporting and editing positions at the Post, including assistant city editor. For the past five years, he has been a reporter on the national staff covering transportation issues.

Originally from California, Feaver attended the University of Oklahoma, graduating with a degree in English. He served with U.S. Army Intelligence for five years, including three years in Berlin. He attained the rank of captain.

Feaver and his wife, Judith, a former chairman of the Alexandria School Board, live in Alexandria. They have two grown children. NOVA's Top Faculty Member Leonard L. Palumbo of Burke has been voted faculty member of the year by the alumni of Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA), Annandale campus. Palumbo has taught business courses on the Annandale campus for 18 years. He is also an adviser to Phi Beta Lambda, a professional association for business students, and a member of the organization's state executive board. Palumbo is also the coordinator of the Northern Virginia Future Business Leaders of America. Botetourt Medal Recipient

Rick Larrick of Arlington has received the College of William and Mary's Lord Botetourt Medal for his academic achievements. The medal, established in 1772 in honor of Virginia governor Botetourt, is given annually to one graduating senior. Larrick, a graduate of Yorktown High school, received straight A's in all classes for four years. In September he will begin work toward a PhD in social psychology at the University of Michigan. Scholarships Awarded

The following Virginia high school students have been awarded the 1986 Presidential Merit Scholarship by George Mason University: Mary Anne Baker, Seton School, Manassas; Antonia Agnes Frost, George C. Marshall High School, Falls Church; Donna Joy Greenberg, Stonewall Jackson High School, Manassas; Anmol P. Sikri, West Springfield High School, Springfield; Monica Sood, Annandale High School, Annandale; Kenneth M. Thompson, Hayfield Secondary School, Alexandria and Holly J. Walker, North Stafford High School, Stafford.

To qualify for the scholarships, students must score 1150 or more out of a possible 1400 points on the Scholastic Aptitude Test, graduate with a minimum grade point average of 3.5 out of a possible 4.0, and demonstrate leadership ability. -- Caroline Johnston

Items of interest may be sent to The Washington Post, Fairfax Bureau, 4010 University Dr. #1, Fairfax, Va. 22030. Please include addresses and day and evening telephone numbers. For information, call 352-2560.