Student Journalists Honored

The Washington Post's Excellence in Journalism Awards were awarded recently to students at Virginia high schools: Kelly Harding, adviser, and Lewis Brissman, editor of The A-Blast at Annandale High School; Chuck Cascio, adviser, Kyle Knight, editor, and Nellie Troy, editor of the South Lakes Sentinel at South Lakes High; and Barbara Ratchford, adviser, and Jimmy McDermont, editor of The Yorktown Sentry at Yorktown High -- first through third prizes respectively.

The third annual awards ceremony, on May 28 at The Post building, recognized 10 area high schools -- three each from Virginia and the District, four from Maryland (two schools tied for first) -- for outstanding reporting and production, as judged by a panel of Post editors.

Thirty-five schools competed for the $12,000 in prize money, with $1,500 going to the first place schools, $1,000 for second place and $500 for third.

This year The Post also awarded a photojournalism prize of $1,000 to The Valkyrie at Woodbridge Senior High, with Anne Webster, adviser, and Louis Sanchez, editor, accepting the award.

Literacy Volunteer of Year Award

Jean Bradley of Arlington received the Basic Literacy Volunteer of the Year Award from Jeannie P. Baliles, wife of Virginia Gov. Gerald C. Baliles, at the Silver Anniversary meeting of the Literacy Council of Northern Virginia. Bradley began tutoring in 1984.

Civitan Citizenship Honor Award

The Civitan Clubs' "Citizenship Honor Award" went to: Eileen M. Purdy and Robert J. Lloyd of Bishop O'Connell High School; Jody K. Lloyd and Douglas G. Koeppen of Wakefield High School; Rhonda E. Leavenworth and Leif L. Grotos of Washington-Lee High School; Kathleen A. Moritz and J. Steve Steger of Yorktown High School; Alexandra Shapiro and Bingham Kennedy Jr. of Langley High School; Meredith K. Robinson and David F. Stewart of Madison High School; Kimberly A. Anglin and James P. Shunk of Marshall High School; Mary Anne Prosser and David H. Collier of McLean High School; and Ellyn E. Hinckley and Dai Appollo Tran of Oakton High School. The award, which is the Civitan's highest commendation, was given by the Civitan Clubs of Arlington and Tysons in a joint banquet to honor the recipients.

The awards are given annually to 18 graduating seniors from the nine aforementioned Northern Virginia high schools -- one male and one female student from each school -- who have distinguished themselves as high achievers and leaders in their schools and communities.

Science Fair Winners

Diane Newman of West Potomac High School won second place in physics, and Kenneth Hung of McLean High School won third place in engineering at the 38th International Science and Engineering Fair last month in Puerto Rico. From 680 finalists, the top four competitors in each of 13 categories were honored in the Grand Awards Program.

Scientists from federal agencies, the armed forces, U.S. corporations and universities selected outstanding students in their special fields. Natalie Stakhiv of West Springfield High won first place, and Thomas Tu of Jefferson High School received honorable mention for science and technology.

Joshua Salkind of Yorktown High School in Arlington was selected from 18 applicants to receive one of the five Washington Post-sponsored scholarships to attend the Blair Summer School for Journalism at the Blair Academy in Blairstown, N.J. The 23-year-old summer school provides an intensive program in journalism, including courses in reporting, writing, photography, and newspaper design and production.

Competition for the scholarship is open to area high school juniors.