Local Businessmen Honored

Jose J. Yglesias, founder and chief executive officer of Syscon Corp., Luther Hodges, chairman of the National Bank of Washington, and F. James McDonald, General Motors chairman and chief executive officer, received awards from the Ibero-American Chamber of Commerce during a luncheon last week at the Sheraton Washington Hotel.

Yglesias was named Hispanic Businessperson of the Year; Hodges received the chamber's Corporate Award, and McDonald received its Leadership Award.

The Ibero-American Council was founded in 1976 and represents more than 400 Hispanic businesses in the Washington area.

Yglesias, who was born and raised in Washington, graduated from Catholic University in 1951 with a degree in engineering. He founded Syscon in 1966 and is a member of Grotech partners, the Policy Committee of the Electronics Industries Association and on the boards of several small businesses.

Hodges was undersecretary of commerce in the Carter administration, former chairman of the Washington/Baltimore Regional Association, and current director of the Greater Washington Board of Trade.

McDonald is chairman of the Minority Supplier Development Council.

D.C. Students Receive Scholarships

.C. high school seniors Delores L. Colbert of Eastern; Evette L. Davis of Wilson; Daniel M. Levine, Banneker, and Tara Pace, Roosevelt, received $2,500 scholarships from the Washington Teachers Union. The four were selected from among nearly 100 D.C. students who participated in an essay competition and interviews.

The teachers union has awarded the scholarships since 1974. The money first came from a trust fund started in 1972 when now-retired Judge Robert H. Campbell levied a fine against the teachers union for engaging in a work stoppage.

The fund is administered by a panel that includes representatives of the D.C. Superior Court, the Board of Education and the teachers union.

Vanderbilt Alumni Board Selection

Martha Priddy Patterson, a Washington lawyer, has been elected to a four-year term on the Vanderbilt Alumni Association's board of directors.

A 1971 graduate of Vanderbilt University, Patterson is past president and past director of alumni education for the Washington Vanderbilt Club. She is a tutor and a member of the board of directors for the Higher Achievement Program, a privately funded organization that serves academically talented students from schools in Washington's low-income neighborhoods. Patterson is also a founding member of Tax Coalition, an organization of public service and private sector women active in tax law and policy.

Send items to Eric Charles May, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20071. Please include address and day and evening telephone numbers. Black and white photos, which cannot be returned, may be included.