The Washington Post recently presented its third annual Excellence in Journalism awards to 12 area high school newspapers.

The Post also awarded five area high school students scholarships to attend the Blair Summer School for Journalism in Blairston, N.J.

The Excellence in Journalism awards, open to high schools in Washington, Maryland and Virginia, awards $12,000 in prizes to four newspapers in each region.

The scholarships to the summer program at Blair Academy are open to area students completing their junior year in high school.

The five winners will receive the full cost of tuition, transportation and expenses.

The following are the District winners in the Excellence in Journalism awards:

First prize: News Reel, Dunbar High School, Avanti Harrod and Diane Williams, editors, John Garverick, adviser; Second: Field News, The Field School, Kierstan Gordon and Alexandra Varlay, editors, Eric Steinhauer, adviser; Third: Interhigh Connection, Duke Ellington School of the Arts, Anthony Crosby and Brian Taht, editors, Carolyn Jones Howard, adviser.

The News Reel also won for photojournalism.

The Blair scholarship winners:

Marta Effinger, Duke Ellington School of the Arts, Washington; Yvette Austin, Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring; Tracey Briscoe, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, Bethesda; Louis Jacobson, Landon School, Bethesda; and Joshua Salkind, Yorktown High School, Arlington.