Having concluded a successful and enjoyable pilot tennis program for the District's elementary- and junior high school-age students, Perry Handy is hoping the first-year experiment will be repeated next year.

"The program, designed mainly to teach tennis fundamentals to the youth in the D.C. elementary schools, was a tremendous success," said Handy, the principal at Giddings Elementary and the chairman of the liaison committee for the program. "There was a lot of participation and we are hoping to see the program expanded next year. We had to show the WATPF {Washington Area Tennis Patrons Foundation} there was sufficient interest and the school system was willing to make the necessary commitment."

The WATPF, in conjunction with the U.S. Tennis Association and D.C. Public Schools, put together a tennis instructional program and provided equipment for more than 450 students in eight schools located throughout the city.

The initial clinic was held in March. Touring professional players Zina Garrison and Lori McNeil were supposed to give clinics, but because of their scheduled matches in the Virginia Slims tournament at George Mason that day, they were unable to attend. The foundation and a handful of students honored the two pro players with plaques for their role model image to young tennis players.

"They were unable to attend, but we felt they should receive the awards, anyway," Handy said. "We still had the clinics. Angus MacCauley, a pro and spokesman for the USTA, did the honors."

The program was incorporated into the physical eduation classes at the eight schools and the instructors, who attended training workshops, followed a prescribed teaching curriculum.

"I'm presently compiling the information from the self-evaluations we sent out," Handy said. "We felt the program was well worth the effort."

The IAABO Board 12 recently elected officers for 1987-88. The president is Willie Jones; first vice president is John Dimisa; second vice president, Agnes Newman; secretary-treasurer, Henry Hailstock; sergeant-at-arms, Miles Levin, and interpreter, Jackie Loube. Executive committee-at-large members are Bob Tomlinson, David Liederman, Tarek Khan, Spike Barouth and Clayton Singleton.

Hubert Gates, coach of the Spingarn cross country team the past 18 years, was named national high school coach of the year by Wilson Sporting Goods.

Gates, who has led Spingarn to numerous Interhigh titles, was presented the award in New Orleans last week. He was selected for his contributions to young athletes and development in the community.

Rafer Johnson, the 1960 Olympic decathlon gold medal winner, will be on hand at Magruder High School Saturday, July 11, for the Maryland finals of the Hershey's national track and field program.

Approximately 500 boys and girls ages 9-14 are expected to participate. They are the qualifiers from local and district meets held earlier this year.

Winners from the state meet may qualify for the national finals in Hershey, Pa., on Aug. 15.