Top Safety Patrol

Gina Jackson, a fifth grader at Bryan Elementary School, has been named Washington's Outstanding School Safety Patrol for 1986-87 by AAA Potomac and the Metropolitan Police Department. Jackson was among 11 top patrols from the Washington area honored at a luncheon during which the American Automobile Association gave each a $100 savings bond and a plaque. Supercomputer Honors

Joseph Addison, a senior at Woodson High School, began work last week in the 1987 Department of Energy's High School Student Supercomputer Honors Program. The program selects 52 of the country's best high school science and mathematics students to work with supercomputers at the National Magnetic Fusion Energy Computer Center of the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

During the two-week program in Livermore, Calif., Addison will be teamed with a computer scientist and will complete an advanced programming project. Students to Space Academy

Tamara Cleveland, a senior at Banneker High School, and Kanti Ford, a senior at Dunbar High School, are among 20 students from across the country who will be sent to the U.S. Space Academy in Huntsville, Ala. During the weeklong session, students will be given training similar to that of NASA astronauts. The program is sponsored by the National Technical Association, an organization that works to increase minority participation in technological fields. Distinguished Principal

Alvira W. Travis, principal of Slowe Elementary School since 1974, has been selected as the District's National Distinguished Principal for 1987 by the D.C. Association of Elementary School Principals. The annual program is sponsored by the Department of Education and the National Association of Elementary School Principals in partnership with Pizza Hut Inc.

Send items to Eric Charles May, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington D.C. 20071. Please include address, and day and evening telephone numbers. Black and white photos, which cannot be returned, may be included.