Fairfax Awards Issued

The Fairfax County Board of Supervisors has given the A. Heath Onthank Memorial Award to seven county employes. Named for the first chairman of the Fairfax County Civil Service Commission, it is the highest honor county employes can receive.

The recipients are:

Herbert E. Bates of Woodbridge, head custodian at Stenwood Elementary School, whose efforts during a major summer renovation helped contractors meet a deadline so the school could open on time in September.

Julia Foreso of Fairfax, the finance officer at West Springfield High, who, through efficient financial management during her tenure beginning in 1980, raised the school's net worth from $17 per student to $61.

Randy Greer of Manassas, a junior buyer with the Schools Supply Service Department, for developing a computer program to make an inventory of hazardous chemicals in the school system so the schools could meet state mandates.

Frank Lentini of Annandale, a prosecution specialist with the Department of Environmental Management, for protecting county residents from unlicensed contractors and other building trade members who violate county building codes.

C. David Litzenburg of Herndon, a printing specialist at the county print shop, for establishing and running the all-volunteer, nonprofit Fairfax County Firefighters Canteen, which provides free refreshments to rescue personnel during emergencies.

Rudolph Schroeck of Herndon, chief plumbing inspector in the Department of Environmental Management, for organizing and conducting a training program to educate plumbing contractors on major technical changes to the state's Uniform Building Code.

William H. Whildin of Centreville, who developed a special program to identify and capture child sex abuse repeat offenders and demonstrated exceptional sensitivity in dealing with victims and their families.

Each honoree received a plaque and a $2,000 cash award. History Day Winners

Two Fairfax County public school students were the only national winners from Virginia at the Eighth Annual National History Day contest held at the University of Maryland and judged by professional historians from across the country.

Michael D. Lessin of Haycock Elementary School received a special award in the oral presentations category for his entry, "The Rights and Responsibilities of a Newscaster."

Allen S. Piper of Longfellow Intermediate was the state winner for his individual performance titled, "Honor or Safety at Bunker Hill."

More than 2,000 students from 48 states competed in 24 categories reflecting research on the theme, "Liberty: Rights and Responsibilities in History."

Please send People items to Kevin Coughlin, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20071. You may enclose black and white photos. Information and photos cannot be returned.