Math Olympiad Winner

Jordan S. Ellenberg, a sophomore at Winston Churchill High School in Potomac, is the winner of a gold medal in the 28th International Mathematical Olympiad held in Havana on July 10 and 11.

Ellenberg was one of six high school students who made up the American team, which placed fifth in the competition. Students from 42 countries participated in the Olympiad.

Jordan achieved a perfect score of 42, one of 22 students to do so.

Chosen on the basis of his performance in the United States Mathematical Olympiad in April, and on an evaluation of his work at a rigorous, four-week training session at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point in June, Jordan worked the solutions to six challenging mathematical problems in two 4 1/2-hour sessions.

The Americans had a team score of 220 points out of a possible 252. Scoring above them were Romania, West Germany, the Soviet Union and East Germany.

Safety Patrols Honored

Abigail Goldstein and Alicia Williams have been named Outstanding School Safety Patrols for the 1986-87 school year by American Automobile Association's Potomac Division and police who work with the patrols in Montgomery and Prince George's county schools.

Goldstein is a sixth grader at Fallsmead Elementary School in Rockville and Williams is a sixth grader at Princeton Elementary in Suitland.

Diabetes Association Award

Harriet Silverberg of Potomac received the highest award given by the American Diabetes Association at its 47th annual meeting in Indianapolis. Silverberg received the award for Outstanding Affiliate Service in the country.

In 1962, Silverberg helped found the Washington area affiliate of the American Diabetes Association and has held every major volunteer position in the affiliate, including president, from 1964 to 1975.

Piano Competition

Jeremy Ford, a seventh grader at Landon School in Bethesda has been awarded $550 and first place in the Ralph Matthew Thomssen Piano Competition.

A hundred students competed in the contest, sponsored by the Private Music Teachers of Maryland.

Ford has competed in six of the competitions and has won first place four times.

6 P.G. Teachers Honored

Six Prince George's County public school teachers have received Outstanding Science Teacher Awards.

Prince George's Public Schools and Potomac Electric Power Co. sponsor the awards. The winners are selected for their creativity, student rapport, professionalism and subject knowledge.

They are: Sherril Lilly, science instructor, Howard B. Owens Science Center; David Myers, physics teacher, Eleanor Roosevelt High School; Barbara Martin, biology teacher, Oxon Hill High School; Gary Miller, physical science teacher, Eisenhower Middle School; Alan M. Beier, chemistry teacher, High Point High School, and Thomas Hamorsky, physics teacher, Oxon Hill High School.