Lewis Elementary Teacher Chosen to Lead PTA Group

Hazel Brown, a teacher at Lewis Elementary School, has been elected president of the D.C. Congress of Parents and Teachers Association for the 1987-88 and 1988-89 school years. Brown is the first teacher ever elected to the office.

Banneker Graduate Is Hill Intern

Enrique Solorzano, a graduate of Banneker High School, was named along with 11 other high school graduates to participate in McDonald's/Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute Inc. High School Summer Internship program.

The students will work in congressional offices in Washington and attend seminars conducted by politicians, governmental officials, business people and members of Congress.

Cardozo Graduate In Berkeley Program

Renee Cooley, a graduate of Cardozo High School, is participating this summer in the Life Sciences High School Honors Program sponsored by the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory in Berkeley, Calif.

Cooley is working with several other honors program students under the supervision of Berkeley biologists and biochemists in assessing damage to viral DNA resulting from exposure to various types of radiation.

The Campus Outreach Opportunity League was one of 18 organizations and individuals awarded the President's Volunteer Action Awards by President Reagan at a recent luncheon ceremony at the White House.

Northwest Teen Wins Piano Competition

Jeremy Ford, 13, of Northwest Washington won the Dean Willard Page award in this year's Ralph Matthew Thomssen Piano Competition.

Ford, who attends the Landon School for Boys in Bethesda, performed a program that included "Sheep May Safely Graze" and Concerto for Piano (Opus #5) by J.S. Bach, and "Venetianisches Gondellied" by Mendelssohn. The competition was sponsored by the Private Music Teachers of Maryland.

2 School Principals Voted Outstanding

Myra Spriggs, principal of Wilkinson Elementary School and Geneva Williams, principal of Benning Elementary School, were named outstanding administrators for the 1986-87 school year in a tie vote by the D.C. Association of Elementary School Principals.

Spriggs has been a principal for 10 years and Williams for seven.

2 Students Commended For Readathon Efforts

Avery Boyce and Enrique Larin, students at Capitol Hill Montessori School, were among 12 Washington area elementary students given special commendation for their work in the Readathon program sponsored by the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.

The Readathon is a four-week program in which schoolchildren around the country in grades one through eight read books for enjoyment outside the classroom and collect pledges of money for each book read.

Send items to Eric Charles May, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington D.C. 20071. Please include address and day and evening telephone numbers. Black and white photographs, which cannot be returned, may be included.