McLean Orchestra Manager

Sharon Dee Moore has been appointed general manager of the McLean Orchestra. Moore, a native of Wisconsin, received a master's degree in arts management from American University. She holds a bachelor's degree in music education from the University of Wisconsin.

Seminar on the Constitution

Mary McBride, a teacher at H-B Woodlawn High School in Arlington, recently participated in a week-long seminar focusing on the creation of the Constitution. Fifteen other history and government teachers, selected from 80 applicants nationally, also took part in the intensive workshop held at Colonial Williamsburg.

Horticultural Director

The American Horticultural Society has named Pieter F. Oechsle as its executive director. Oechsle, a former president of F.A.O. Schwarz Inc., will be working with Carolyn Marsh Lindsay, the new president of the Mount Vernon-based society.

Planning Chairman

Margaret E.G. Vanderhye of McLean has been elected new chairman of the Northern Virginia Planning District Commission. Vanderhye, a public affairs officer for the National Security Council during the Ford administration, is a foreign policy and economic affairs consultant.

Service to Community

Joyce Rawlings and Jeannette Smalling received the Economic Opportunities Commission's annual Martha Miller Award, in recognition of outstanding service and dedication to Alexandria's low-income community. Rawlings, mother of three sons and a foster parent, helped establish This Way House for runaways. Smalling is founder of the Old Presbyterian Meeting House's Family to Family Ministry Program.

Cadet Gets Top Honor

Civil Air Patrol Cadet Chris Hemmer was presented the Spaatz Award, the highest award a cadet can receive in the Civil Air Patrol, and was promoted to cadet colonel. Hemmer, who graduated from Fairfax High School, entered the Air Force Academy last month.

3 Honored by Faxfair

The Faxfair Corp. recently honored Sabra Everly of Centreville, Jeremiah Long of Dunn Loring and Bea Luboshez of Falls Church as outstanding citizen volunteers for their work in producing the two-day Fairfax Fair. The Junior League of Northern Virginia and the Fairfax High School Interact Club also were honored.