Korean Group Gives Scholarships

The Korean American Chamber of Commerce has awarded $500 scholarships to nine D.C. public school graduates.

The recipients and their schools are Patrick Blackwell, Juilliard School; Janice Champion, Marymount University; Jennifer Charles, New York University; Kimberly Datcher, Spelman College; Peter Ferren, Harvard University; Trinette Hawkins, North Carolina A&T State University; Sharon LeSane, University of the District of Columbia; Saundra McNair, University of Maryland; and Karen Yarborough, University of the District of Columbia.

3 Honored by Catholic U.

Three District residents were among those named Partnership Scholars for their academic achievement at Catholic University.

Anna S. Stevens, a junior majoring in drama; Kimberlyn Moore, a junior majoring in politics, and Leslie Phillips, a sophomore nursing student, were cited in the university's Partnership Program, which provides financial aid to minority students.

2 Teachers Honored

Two D.C. public school teachers will receive the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching. Science teacher John Thayer of Ballou High School and math teacher Sue Poole White of Jefferson Junior High each will receive a $5,000 National Science Foundation grant and gifts from private sector contributors.

Judge to Head Commission

Associate Judge Frederick H. Weisberg has been named chairman of the D.C. Superior Court's Sentencing Guidelines Commission. The 19-member commission was appointed in 1984 to develop felony sentencing guidelines for use by judges in the court. Weisberg, a member of the commission since its inception, was appointed to the new position by Chief Judge Fred B. Ugast.

Doctor on Ethics Panel

Dr. Edmund D. Pellegrino, John Carroll professor of medicine and medical humanities at Georgetown University and director of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, has been named to the new Biomedical Ethics Advisory Committee.

The committee will counsel the national Biomedical Ethics Board, which is a panel of members of Congress and laymen that addresses ethics issues that arise in the delivery of health care and biomedical and behavioral research.

Mount Vernon Honors 2 Students

Mount Vernon College recognized two District residents for academic achievement during ceremonies last month. Ausma Rohde, a junior business administration major, was named an Eleanor Lansing Dulles scholar. Courtney Malone, a sophomore, was named an Alma Schmidt Petersen scholar.