Takoma Park Mayor Stephen J. Del Giudice, who in 1985 narrowly defeated controversial Mayor Sammie A. Abbott by seven votes, this time will run unopposed in the Nov. 3 elections in his bid for a second two-year term.

At last week's city nomination caucus, Del Giudice, 36, a George Washington University law professor, was hugged by supporters when it became clear no other nominations for mayor would be announced.

There had been some speculation among the city's 16,500 residents that Abbott might seek another term.

Abbott added a bit to that speculation by refusing to disclose his election plans before the caucus.

As mayor, Del Giudice has focused on such issues as city zoning, reclassification of city employes and fire protection. The mayor receives $2,400 a year.

The City Council race promises few surprises, but at least five new faces on the seven-member panel.

Elections in five of the city's seven wards are uncontested, and only two incumbents -- Paul d'Eustachio in Ward 3 and Edward Sharp in Ward 7 -- are seeking reelection. Neither incumbent is opposed.

In Ward 1, William H. Leary is unopposed, as is Marc Elrich in Ward 5 and Janice Martin in Ward 6.

Leary and Elrich are affiliated with the Silver Spring-Takoma Park Traffic Coalition, a group formed to oppose the plans of Montgomery County Executive Sidney Kramer to significantly increase development in downtown Silver Spring.

In Ward 2, Joseph Brint Dillingham, who ran unsuccessfully in 1985 for a council seat, faces James C. Douglas.

In Ward 4, Gregory Hamilton will square off against Juanita Nunn.

Council members receive $1,800 a year.